Home About us Destinations Contact us Follow us onFollow us on Twitter

Nile Cruise 7 nights

Whether you are thinking about cruising for the first time or you are a frequent visitor to Egypt we have a great selection of superb boats to choose from, all specifically designed with the Nile in mind. We carefully select all of our boats, so you can be rest assured of the best service and facilities as well as great value for money.

Sacred Lake - Nile Cruise 7 nights Felucca man 2 Caro.jpg - Nile Cruise 7 nights Valley of Queens - Nile Cruise 7 nights

Reviews

  • MS MAYFAIR JAN 2017

    I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent Nile cruise on MS Mayfair. The arrangements you made were impeccable. The food, the accommodation, the hospitality on board, the excursions and our guide Omar were all outstandingly good. Many thanks indeed. Regards James - Brighton

  • Excellent - December 2016

    December 2016 - MS Mayfair Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful holiday. The support provided in Egypt was great. Our stay on the Mayfair was excellent , we were overfed with superb food and the staff were brilliant. The guide Islam on the Mayfair went beyond his call of duty to provide us with wonderful and informative holiday. And thank you for arranging what was a complex travel arrangements for us and my niece. Mr and Mrs J.Harrow,Middlesex

  • Ms Mayfair - wonderful holiday!

    MS Mayfair 19 September 2016 I can't thank you enough for another wonderful holiday! I have just returned from my second trip to Egypt, as a solo traveller this time, organised by this fantastic company! Collected at the airport by one of several English speaking guides, I was taken to MS Mayfair, docked in Luxor. It certainly doesn't disappoint, it offers luxurious accommodation, exceptional service & scrumptious food. I also knew I would be so well looked after & safe, these people go the extra mile for sure, they are so caring, they really want you to enjoy their country! I thoroughly enjoyed the excursions, although I had visited these places before, I was given another perspective by a different guide this time. The guides are extremely knowledgeable & so passionate about these wonders. I made an additional trip this time to Abu Simbel & wow... it was a truly awesome sight. We travelled by road & were also able to witness the breath-taking sunrise over the Sahara as well as the incredible 'Mirage'. I will return for sure & hope to venture further using MS Mayfair as a base, it is exceptional. I wouldn't hesitate to do this trip alone again, I felt so safe at all times. Thank you again to Discover Egypt for providing a wonderful itinerary & to all staff for making this another very special experience. Carol – Somerset.

  • MS Mayfair 05 sep 2016

    Nile Cruise 05 September 2016 I just wanted to say thank you we had a fantastic holiday. The Mayfair was amazing - the cabins are lovely spacious and spotless. The staff are very hard working and so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble and they always found time for a chat. The food is outstanding and anything you don't like or eat was swooped for an alternative. The itinerary was perfect and our guide Waleed so knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does he brought Egypt to life for me who had no previous experience of the country. The holiday was superbly organised and everything went smoothly Sue – Manchester.

  • Wonderful holiday - MS Mayfair

    MS Mayfair – MAY 2016 We have recently returned from a two week holiday in Egypt with Discover Egypt and we would like to thank you for what was a wonderful holiday experience. It was a holiday which lived up to every expectation and was great value for money. We will certainly consider future holidays with your company and will be recommending you to family and friends. The first week of our holiday was a Nile cruise from 2nd May 2016 to 9th May on board the MS Mayfair, sailing from Luxor to Aswan and return. Although both of us have been to Egypt on holiday before, this was our first ever cruise and what a wonderful experience it was. I can honestly say that the MS Mayfair looked exactly as it was portrayed in your website pictures but in reality everything was much more spacious than it appeared in the pictures. The word which best described this vessel would be luxurious. The crew were extremely friendly and helpful at all times and the same was true of Waleed, our tour guide/Egyptologist who accompanied us for the whole week. Our Discover Egypt group consisted of only 18 passengers and we were joined for a few days at a time by some American guests. As a group we got on very well socially and we met some lovely people who enhanced the holiday experience. Whilst it was lovely to have so few people on such a large vessel at the same time we felt so sorry for the crew and the struggling Egyptian Tourism industry. It is as safe to holiday in Egypt as any other holiday destination and at no time during our stay did we feel in any danger. In fact the security at Luxor airport was far superior to Heathrow. Suitcases were examined twice, hand luggage examined four times, numerous body searches and we were swabbed twice checking for explosives! It is high time that more flights to Egypt are made available to the British tourist and more destinations catered for. The standard of cuisine was excellent and I cannot see where anyone would have cause for complaint. The food was at all times plentiful and there were always plenty of options to choose from leading to the tendency to over eat! During the entire cruise I am not aware of any of the group suffering from a stomach bug. We opted for the all-inclusive drinks package which was value for money and essential in view of the temperatures. It was great to be able to order drinks without having to worry about a bill at the end of the holiday. Only having holidayed in Egypt in the past during the month of November I was surprised by how much hotter it was in May. Daily temperatures were regularly in excess of 40c which admittedly made some of the excursions rather hard going, especially where no shade was available. One evening when we stepped on the sundeck at 11pm the temperature was still 31c. The included excursion programme was excellent and also was great value for money. Had you to pay for each of the excursions privately it would have cost a small fortune. Our guide Waleed was very informative and very patient and allowed us plenty of time at each destination. All in all, the weeks cruise was a wonderful experience and something we would both like to enjoy again in the future. Yours sincerely Paul and Anne May 2016

  • SUPERB HOLIDAY MARCH 2016

    3 NIGHTS CAIRO,7 NIGHTS MS MAYFAIR CRUISE. March 28 2016 I can't thank you enough Discover Egypt, you all helped so much with any questions, 1st class service. Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel, Cairo, was fabulous, the guides, Amal & Mohammed were like friends & we felt totally safe at all times. The staff couldn't do enough for us at the Hotel & on the cruise. We were taken to 2 lovely restaurants to eat on the excursions we booked in Cairo, great food & excellent service, above & beyond what we expected! Ms Mayfair is luxurious, plenty of delicious food, the staff attentive & superb guides Walid & Ash. Everyone went that bit further to ensure we were happy & had everything we needed. It makes me sad to see how the media have destroyed tourism here, the people are so friendly & helpful, we felt so safe wherever we were. The trips were very well organised & I have to say there were more than several spine tingling moments, seeing these wonders & hearing how they engineered these monuments without today's equipment & technology, astounding! Amal & Walid spoke with passion & made each trip a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this holiday & really could go on & on. I've booked to go back on the cruise in May, on my own as I regret not doing some of the excursions & I know I will be well looked after. I think that says it all, truly a holiday of a lifetime! One last thing, if you enjoy a glass or 2 of excellent wine or beer with your meals or even a short, I would take the drinks package, fantastic value. Many many thanks to all! Carol – Somerset.

  • an amazing holiday

    MS MAYFAIR 04 APRIL 2016 My family has just returned from our trip down the Nile and I just wanted to tell you that we had the most amazing time! The organisation and application of the details were first class. Everyone did as promised with no problems what so ever. Cairo was fabulous, the Mayfair was stunning and the guide Islam was superb. It truly was one of the best holidays ever according to all 4 of us! I can't praise everything enough from beginning to end. Needless to say we will start saving to do a similar trip in a few years we hope when we can learn more! Thanks to you and Please pass on our wholehearted thanks to the guys in Egypt who gave us such an amazing holiday. Angela

  • A memorable holiday - March 2016

    A group of 4 of us recently went on a Nile cruise and I wanted to write and express our satisfaction with the whole booking. The week before the cruise you wrote and told us we were being moved to the MS Mayfair sad the boat we had booked was not sailing. We arrive to a lovely clean, happy, helpful boat and staff and this remained for the whole of the cruise even when there were only 12 of us on board. The rooms were a good size, well-appointed and clean. The public areas were very nicely furnished with the exception of the roof terrace where the cushions were looking a little tired and need the covers replacing. The tours were excellent and I have to say a big thank you to Hassan, our guide, who made them so interesting and memorable. His knowledge was fantastic and we learnt so much. The food on the boat was very good, we personally preferred the buffet style dinner rather than a menu to choose from but all the food was wonderful. If we had one criticism it was that we paid for the all-inclusive drinks package and often felt like 2nd class citizens as we weren't given bottles of beer but glasses, we were given small glasses of wine when others had large. I understand that you are trying to prevent abuse but this is not the sort of trip where that happens and we just wanted to feel valued, take that you had taken £360 for drinks from the 4 of us and I'm sure not many other people spent that during the cruise. (Editor’s note: The All-inclusive concept is always offered in this way – drinks by the glass) Many thanks again for a very memorable holiday Suzanne – Hampshire.

  • Memorable and Magic

    Nile Cruise - March 2016 I would like to say what an amazing holiday it was. Magical and memorable just about sums it up. The staff on board went that extra mile to make everything just that little bit special. The security was impressive and the Egyptian people so welcoming and friendly. I just feel sad that more tourists are not visiting Egypt. It has so much to offer and it felt completely safe. Thank you for organising such a wonderful holiday for me. Mrs W. Surrey.

  • Jan 2018

    New Year cruise 17/18 Just a quick message to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our trip down and up the Nile, which we returned from yesterday. We were particularly impressed by our tour guide Walid who was superb - please give him pat on the back, if that is possible.Looking forward to our next trip Peter - Kent UK

  • Clockwork arrangements October 2017

    October 2017 - We returned yesterday from our Nile Cruise and Cairo extension and I would like to take the opportunity to say just how much we enjoyed ourselves. All the arrangements went like clockwork and we were very impressed. The MS Mayfair lived up to all our expectations and was a very comfortable boat to sail on. The crew were all friendly and helpful and we felt really relaxed on board. The food was superb but perhaps too much of it! Our guide, Walid did a great job of taking us around the shoreside visits and was very supportive generally, a very nice guy who really knew his stuff. We were never left in doubt about where we should be and when. Egypt can be a bit intimidating to the occasional visitor and Walid did a great job in providing a 'security blanket' which was important in terms of enjoying our holiday. He also has an excellent sense of humour. In Cairo we were met as planned and whisked off to the Mena House by Mohammed. It was well worth the upgrade as we could dine al fresco in the shadow of the pyramids which was a unique experience for us and quite unforgettable. The hotel is lovely and the food in the 139 restaurant is effectively at UK pub prices which is amazing at a 5-star hotel. We did two tours, the Pyramids Sound and Light and the Pyramids and Saqqara. Sound and Light was very good although the driver took a short cut through the alleyways to avoid the traffic which was educational to say the least. I hope the guy being put up against the wall by some others who obviously had a complaint against him got away OK. It seemed like a middle east equivalent of Dickensian London and quite educational in showing how some of the people in Cairo live. Quite a contrast compared with the 5-star hotels half a mile away. We never got the full name of our guide on the Pyramids/Saqqara tour but he did an excellent job of taking us around both sites and telling us about modern day Egypt. We also had the opportunity to visit the solar boat at the Great Pyramid which we missed on our earlier visit and really enjoyed seeing. So, all in all, a great holiday and we are very glad we went. Colin and Elizabeth – Surrey.

  • Big thank you

    I have just returned from my holiday(24 April 2017) I just want to say a BIG thank you to the Discover Egypt team. I had a great time, all made possible by the great organisation of your team very thing was taken care of, I did not have to worry about anything. the reps who met us were very helpful, especially Islam who was with us throughout the cruise its self. he was very attentive to our needs making sure everything was to the standard expected, I particularly liked that he made sure we had a daily itinerary placed in our room the evening before, even-though he had already told us. Everything was explained, so there were no nasty surprises. Everything on the boat was great including the food(no jipping tummy ). Samy the rep who met us at Cairo airport to complete the second stage of our holiday was also outstanding, he even went as far as to complete our departure visa and carrying our cases right through to security check, well done to all, and thank you. Mrs J - London

  • Sonesta Star Goddess and Cairo – March 2017

    We have recently returned from a 3 nights Cairo, and 7 nights Nile cruise with Discover Egypt, and wanted to thank you for a holiday to remember. The planning that you put into holiday was first class meaning that everything ran smoothly. Our hotel in Cairo, le Meridien Pyramids, was a very nice hotel in a great location. Our guide, Faten, was very knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about Egypt and its history, and she made our day very enjoyable, taking us to the Pyramids, Sphinx, Solar Boat, and the Museum as well as lunch in a lovely restaurant. We were in a suite on the Star Sonesta Goddess, and we would recommend this boat to everyone. The suites were very spacious, and comfortable, and the food was plentiful varied, and excellent. The crew were very attentive, and polite, and a special thank you to Emad our waiter/ steward. Every day we were taken on tours to some of the most amazing temples and tombs, and the sights will stay with us forever. There were only 6 people in our party for the tours, who became good friends over the week, so we had plenty of time to enjoy everything at our own pace, and were never rushed at all. Our guide for the week was Essam whose passion and knowledge about everywhere we went was infectious, and he really helped make the tours exciting. We would strongly recommend Essam as a tour guide for your company in Egypt. We must point out that we never at any time felt unsafe in Egypt, and the local people were very friendly. Once again, thank you very much for the effort that your company put in to making our holiday very special. Nigel & Liz - Northampton

  • MS MAYFAIR FEB 2017

    We had a fantastic time! The organisation of flights, transfers, boat and excursions was perfect - everything went very smoothly and all the staff and guides were very friendly and attentive. The MS Mayfair was a great boat to be on - we appreciated the quality compared to some others we saw on the river - and made full use of the facilities and the drinks package! We were very lucky to have great weather for our week that made travelling nice - at just the right temperatures. The visits to the Temples were excellent - with so few tourists we could view as much as required with no queues or waiting around. So, big thanks from all of us to all on Board the MS Mayfair and to you for organising a great holiday. We'll be recommending it to anyone who'll listen! Russ and Chrissi, George and Jan - February 2017

  • A special memory

    We have recently returned from a Nile cruise and stay in Cairo. The holiday was excellent and we could not do more than thoroughly recommend it. The boat, The Sonesta Star Goddess was excellent, as was the food and the staff who were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. It is things like this that really make the holiday a special memory. Our guide for this part of the trip was Islam. He was very friendly, knowledgeable without making you feel that you would need to sit an exam later. In talking to our friends we can do no more than recommend DiscoverEgypt, The Sonesta Star Goddess and especially our tour guide Islam. Fran and Trevor 20 February 2017

  • Cruise and Cairo - Jan 2017

    just a quick thank you for arranging a wonderful holiday for us.We arrived home Wednesday evening after 11 wonderful days in Egypt. Everything went so smoothly and just a promised. We loved every minute of being there. What a wonderful country and people! Many thanks for all your help. Karen - Wales.

  • Nile Cruise and stay Feb 2017

    The holiday (both cruise and Luxor stay) was everything we hoped for, and some. The Mayfair - well, it was a beautiful boat that entirely lived up to the photos, which I know from experience is not always the case! It's like a very stylish boutique hotel, spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained. It surpassed our expectations and was extraordinary value - we'd all done our research on different boats before booking and could not believe the quality for the price compared with others - outstanding. Service was excellent and our Egyptologist, Islam, was wonderful. The food ranged from excellent to OK, the excellent being the Egyptian food, the OK being not-quite-successful versions of western dishes. We all wished there had been more Egyptian dishes (I for one would have been delighted if it had all be Egyptian) but my experience on other cruises and resort hotels has been the same. We were so glad we chose this option of a week in Luxor after the cruise. Our extra week meant we could re-visit several places and spend as long as we liked. And, of course, we could visit other places not on the cruise itinerary. So, for us, a perfect combination and, again, fantastic value for money at just a couple of hundred extra.

  • Just back 19 Sep 2016

    Just back from our Nile Cruise on the Star Goddess. The staff take such good care of us we have only to decide which clothes to wear. Lovely lovely crew. So friendly and hardworking. The food was excellent as usual. Thank you to everyone on the ship and our Egyotologist for the week Ashraf. Start saving for next time now.

  • Best holiday ever - May 2016

    We returned back to the UK on 31st May 2016 after spending 10 very enjoyable days in Egypt. We wish to convey our thanks to all concerned both in the UK and Egypt for making the holiday truly memorable, it has been without doubt the best holiday we have taken. The organisation, advice and information, locations and helpfulness of all staff encountered beforehand and then in both Cairo and on the Nile cruise were exemplary. From the moment we were met at Cairo airport by Mohammed, we were looked after in a way we had never previously experienced. Mohammed, our driver Ahmed and Egyptologist Abeer were wonderful. The stay in Cairo was everything we hoped for and far more. The Nile cruise aboard the Sonesta Star Goddess can only be described as magical, the staff were fantastic, the food superb and Omar Habibi our guide, was without doubt, exceptional in terms of his knowledge, patience and making us feel welcome in his homeland. If Discover Egypt has any form of recognition awards we would like to nominate Omar Habibi for exceptional service, he is a truly wonderful ambassador for both Egypt and Discover Egypt. We enjoyed every minute of our time in Egypt, we hoped that the holiday would be enjoyable but what we encountered far exceeded all expectations. Thank you for the best holiday we have taken and for the best 50th birthday Elaine could ever have had. We will definitely be in touch to book with Discover Egypt for us to return to Egypt hopefully next year. Shaun and Elaine

  • Wonderful, wonderful August 2014

    This just to let you know, we had a wonderful, wonderful time on our Egyptian holiday. The Nile Cruise was out of this world. I was expecting the image painted by Agatha Christie from the 1920's and when we were moved to the Sonesta boats, that's just about what we got with a modern twist. The tours were excellent, informative and Mohsen really brought the ancient Egyptian world to life. Hurghada was very different, being as it was a family resort but we soon adapted and enjoyed 2 great excursions with your guide. Overall a superb time was had by all and we would like to thank all your staff for their expertise and attentive care during our stay Jenny 11 August 2014

BACK TO YOUR HOLIDAY