Home About us Destinations Contact us Follow us onFollow us on Twitter
Whats new

Reviews

Sonesta Star Goddess

  • Excellent
    October 2018 - We just wanted to drop you a line following our excellent holiday with yourselves arranged through Elaine's Travel in Marlborough. In particular we much enjoyed the Nile cruise starting from Luxor on 22nd October on the Sonesta vessel. Our enjoyment and appreciation of the trip was much enhanced by the excellent guide you had engaged Mahomed who lives in Luxor. He was extremely knowledgeable, very well organised, and an excellent and engaged communicator. He really enhanced our experience. Stuart and Bernadette
  • April 2018 - Highly recommendable cruise
    I would like to say what a wonderful time we had cruising on the Nile on the Sonesta Star Goddess earlier in April. All the arrangements were smooth and flawless. Mohamed, our guide, was knowledgeable, calm and patient. The crew were kind and obliging, always with a smile. And, as for the suites, they were amazingly spacious and well maintained. Highly recommendable in every way. Monica - Somerset.
  • April 2018 - Marvellous trip up the Nile
    Just back from the most marvellous trip up the Nile(April 2018) from Luxor to Aswan with the highlight being the visit to Abu Simbel. The whole cruise was well organised and planned complete with our most wonderful guide, Mohamed, who acted as guide, banker, personal shopper, dance teacher and nanny too! What a star! His fantastic knowledge was invaluable and nothing was too much trouble for him. We were a small group of 9 making the whole experience great fun and rather like being “family”. We had lots of laughs and all became great friends by the end of the week. The boat the Sonesta Star Goddess was very luxurious with plenty of room taking only 62 people in total and felt very personal. The crew were very friendly and helpful and we were amused to find our towels in the shape of either a swan or a crocodile each evening. The food was great and it was a real plus eating all meals on board thereby reducing the risk of “you know what”. Would recommend the cruise to anyone and would not hesitate to go again. Jean- Devon UK

Sonesta Amirat Dahabiya

  • Dahabiya cruise and Cairo Feb 2020
    Thank you for your help in arranging our holiday. Your suggestions worked out very well. As you told us our guide (Fouad) met us airside of security and helped us obtain our visas. We then met Mustafa our driver and they both helped us with our luggage. The Le Meridien Hotel (your recommendation) was very good. Next morning we met “Tuna” our guide for the Pyramids etc. She was excellent, although we did have trouble hearing her at times due to background noise. We then transferred to our boat at Aswan and met LOAY AHMED who was to be our guide for the rest of the trip. He was so knowledgeable, enthusiastic and attentive throughout we couldn’t have had anyone better. Our cabin was comfortable with an excellent shower etc. The food on board was very good with plenty of choice. I came home 2 kilos heavier. There were another 6 guests on board and we all got on very well . Dress was informal and relaxed and the ladies did not get the chance to put on the smart frocks! We were (Including the guides) caught out by a cold north wind. We ended using our bath robes to keep warm when dining at night. It all added to the fun. I can not praise the crew enough. My wife has a problem with a leg and the crew competed to be the ones to help her when leaving and joining the boat. The stewards were very attentive and looked after us very well. The 14th. February was our golden wedding anniversary. Our cake was brought up onto deck by the crew singing and dancing. It was the most lovely time and I am not afraid to say, brought tears to my eyes. It truly made it a most enjoyable occasion. Thank you for arranging the cake. It was made on the boat and was beautiful. On the 15th, we left our boat for the last time and were ferried over in a small boat to the far side of the river. As I hope you can tell, we really enjoyed our holiday. David …………. A short extra note from Sandra. The entire holiday exceeded expectations and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend your company to anyone wanting a similar trip. All involved were extremely professional, but also approachable.It was so good to have such a happy crew. The cake, singing, clapping, music for our 50th was a big surprise and much appreciated – thank you for organising that. Sandra
  • Dahabiya cruise Feb 2020
    Our guide Loay Ahmed was amazing, very knowledgeable could not do enough for us and we had a lot of laughs with him. The Dahabiya and cruise was great, all I expected and more. The Dahabiya cabin was very comfortable with a nice on suite. There was a little lounge you could use below deck. However we did not a German couple had drinks in it most nights the other four passengers like us tended to stay up on deck chatting and watching the world go by. On deck where we spent most of our time when on board had sun loungers comfortable chairs and a hot tub. We ate all our meals on deck great food breakfast was cereal, fruit salad, omelettes, boiled eggs and lots more. Lunch was buffet style with four courses, dinner again four course but set meal. Food was amazing. The crew without exception were very friendly and again could not do enough for you, I and another passenger even had a go at the helm a few times. The whole trip was very relaxed and peaceful even the excursions. Our guides worked with us if we wanted to change something or add something. We usually set of at about 9am for the trips and found we missed the big crowd's which started to appear as we were leaving. No trip was rushed we were able to take our time and after he had explained and shown everything we had free time to go around by ourselves if we wished.
  • Dahabiya Nile Cruise & Cairo - 10 Nights Feb 2019
    Feb 2019 - After planning and anticipating this trip for over 6 months, we spent 10 days in Egypt in February and our holiday surpassed all our expectations. We were a group of five, with three of the group traveling from the USA and the other two traveling from Ireland. We booked with Discover Egypt because they offered the combination package of Cairo and a Nile Cruise on a Dahabiya. Discover Egypt worked tirelessly on the planning and the logistics and making sure that we were able to squeeze in every sight we wanted to see along the way. We were met in the airport, helped through the visa controls and then escorted to a welcome van. We were even helped through the check in process at our hotel, the Marriott Mena House. The Mena House was lovely and tranquil, with an amazing view of the Giza Pyramids. I want to go back to Egypt just to stay there again. Each morning in Cairo we were met promptly by our driver with the van and our guide. Raham, who was so much more for us than a tour guide - mostly guide, but also group photographer, shopping director and culture interpreter - was fabulous. Our transportation to the Cairo Airport for our flight to Aswan, was also seamless, and we were met at the Aswan Airport without incident. A Dahabiya is a small boat. Ours, the Sonesta Amarit, had a total of five regular cabins and two suites. Our group, along with another couple who had booked with Discover Egypt, had our own guide along for the cruise. Assem, just as our guide in Cairo had been, was excellent. He was very accommodating for our group, and unselfishly shared the history and his love for his country with us. He went out of his way, at every turn, to ensure that we were enjoying our holiday. Our experience with Discover Egypt was, from start to finish, simply amazing. We won’t hesitate to book with them again when we start planning our next vacation. Jamie and friends - USA and Ireland

Steigenberger Legacy

  • Such a magical holiday for us all
    September 6 2019 I have just come back from a holiday to Egypt with my sister and her husband. They were celebrating their 50th wedding and I just wanted to thank everyone involved for making this such a magical holiday for us all. My sister and I have travelled many times with you but it was the first time we could persuade my brother in law to come. We had 3 nights in Cairo and then 7 nights cruise on the Steigenberger Legacy. We had an upgrade to a pyramid view and then on the cruise a celebration cake. It was really wonderful and our Egyptologist on the cruise Eslam was so attentive and friendly we can’t thank him enough. All in all a wonderful time and my brother in law like us has fallen in love with Egypt. Sheila
  • Surpassed all expectations
    June 2019 I wanted to express my delight and offer my thanks following our recent trip to Egypt. We have never been on a holiday quite like this and it truly surpassed all our expectations. From the moment we landed in Egypt to our departure we could hardly have wanted more assistance at every turn. We found ourselves on a boat with just 19 guests and a staff of 70 to look after us. Our party of four had its own excellent Egyptologist and tour guide. The food and care on the boat was superb. Every day of the cruise brought something new and we were enthralled by the marvellous history and superb scenery. Our time in Cairo, when we are left to ourselves, was generally very good. We were able to see the Pyramids, Egypt museum and the Coptic area with little problem. We felt entirely safe the whole time and would heartily commend Discover Egypt for organising such a memorable time. So, thank you once again. It is highly likely that we would repeat this holiday after a few years and would be recommending others to make the most of the opportunity to discover Egypt for themselves John - London.
  • above and beyond...
    Just back 24 September. I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed my time both in Cairo and on the Legacy on my recent holiday…I was very comfortable on the Legacy and felt very looked after by the restaurant and kitchen staff who went above and beyond to cater for my vegetarian diet. All the guides, staff, drivers, crew were impeccable and looked after me and my fellow travellers….I am already now saving up to use you again with my eye on the Jordan trip (any special deals for repeat travellers? lol). Simon,London.
  • Steigenberger Legacy 24/9/18
    Just back 01 October - I feel that I must send you this email to express our gratitude and satisfaction with our week aboard the Legacy. My wife and I could not have been more pleased with the suite that you arranged for us, and we will certainly be using Discover Egypt again. The vessel, staff and facilities were second to none. Please accept our sincere thanks for a wonderful, informative and relaxing holiday. Kind regards Steven and Janet
  • Legacy May 2018
    Excellent from start to finish Please do not put off a visit to Egypt, having done 10 days we were looked after from the time we stepped off the first flight to the moment we stepped on the flight home. In between we had a great 3 days in bustling Cairo staying at Le Meridian Pyramids and a fabulous cruise down the Nile on the Steigenberger Legacy. I have learned so much, seen astonishing sites and met some amazing people, Our guide on the boat/visits Walid was very knowledgable and friendly and was excellent with the group of eight we had. The boat staff were outstanding as was the food. The only slight problem was the temperature climbed to an unseasonable 45 degrees, but hey you can`t have everything. Egypt is a stunning country, the people are so welcoming and they need tourism to rise again. Go if you can, soon! Lynne
  • Legacy - January 2018
    Just thought we would drop you a line to let you know how much we enjoyed our holiday in Egypt. All was good - the boat, the food, the sightseeing, the guides all excellent and what better way to pass a few days in January than sailing gently (a little too gently at one stage when a sand bank slowed things down a little too much! and caused a small change of schedule) down the Nile with a some bird watching thrown in and the local scenery to admire. Thanks for a great trip. Peter and Pat - London UK
  • Feb 2018 Wonderful Holiday
    We returned from a wonderful holiday with Discover Egypt last Monday. We particularly would like to sing the praises of our guide who was very thoughtful in her planning for my husband, who has Parkinson's Disease and kindly arranged a wheelchair for him at the museum. Her knowledge was amazing but she was able to convey it with such skill and enthusiasm that we have retained a large amount of the information she shared. We were also very grateful for her flexibility in taking us to the Coptic Church area of old Cairo when we asked questions about the church. All in all we had nothing but praise for her! Those who met us and returned us from the airport were great and the transport provided was also great. Joy – Cheshire.UK
  • Legacy - April 2018
    Just a quick thank you for organising our trip that commenced 2nd April. Even though I am a travel agent it was worth paying for the expertise of Discover Egypt and Wings were brilliant throughout. Janice - London UK
  • Legacy - Wonderful
    19 Feb 2018 - Just want to say thank you for a wonderful Nile trip on the Steigenberger cruiser. the food the guide the trips were wonderful. Margaret – Gwent.
  • Feb 2018 - great holiday
    Feb 26 2018 - We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Egypt. We didn't get chance to fill out the client questionnaire before we left for Luxor and wanted to say that one of the highlights of our time in Cairo was having Amany as our guide. She was fantastic at every level and made those two days very special for the four of us. The other person who was brilliant was Matthew or Matta who looked after the restaurant on the Steigenberger- his help and attentiveness was superb. He really looked after us. Thanks again to Discover Egypt. Mark- Cheshire.
  • Jan 2018
    New Year cruise 17/18 Just a quick message to say that we thoroughly enjoyed our trip down and up the Nile, which we returned from yesterday. We were particularly impressed by our tour guide Walid who was superb - please give him pat on the back, if that is possible.Looking forward to our next trip Peter - Kent UK

MS Tulip

  • Brilliant - 09 Dec Tulip
    just returned from your one week trip on the MS Tulip, Luxor to Aswan and back, and wanted to let you know it was excellent. Exceeded our expectations in every department; beautiful ship, spacious cabin, great food, wonderful friendly staff, really really faultless. And we were blown away by the excursions to the amazing temples and tombs, all vividly brought to life by Ahmed, our incredibly knowledgeable and attentive tour guide who was brilliant. We were looked after every step of the way, from touch down in Luxor, to boarding the plane to leave a week later. I always like to review our trips honestly, but rarely are they so positive. But in this case, thoroughly well deserved. Thanks for a brilliant trip, we shall certainly be recommending you. Brian
  • Wonderful Trip - Tulip Dec 2019
    Dear Philip, we're now back home from our holiday 10 days. I'd like to say we had a wonderful trip to Egypt and everything was top notch, the boat and staff were 101% and our historical visits were exceptional, I would like to praise our great tour guide Muhammed for making it a holiday to remember. His knowledge and enthusiasm reverberated through the group and nothing was too much for him, be it sites, questions, fun or even locating ATM machines, he certainly was the cherry on top of our holiday. Jan -
  • Great Cruise on MS Tulip
    September 16 2019 Thank you for the valuable information,it was a wise move to go on the MS Tulip, such a wonderful holiday,I cannot fault any one on that boat,from the highest to the lowest all were polite helpful and such a happy crew,I would say exceptional. Food Wonderful,cabins so bright and clean. Mr George sends you his best wishes. hank you for an enjoyable holiday. Lesley and Nicola
  • Tulip and Cairo May 2019
    May 2019 I just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful holiday the guides were great both on the boat the tulip and in cairo Mustapha was brilliant he went above and beyond to help us in cairo and at the airport after ward in fact we have booked the same boat and hotel in luxor for next year would recommend you to any one and say go to Egypt Thank you once again. Janice - Cheshire.
  • MS TULIP 29 April 2019
    MS Tulip - Luxor to Aswan 7 day Nile Cruise 29 April 2019 Myself and my family have just returned from an amazing holiday on MS Tulip. It was the first visit to Egypt for my family and my seventh as I love the country and people very much, however, this was my first experience sailing on this beautiful boat. The fabulous food and service onboard is second to none. The Manager and staff could not do enough to make this a memorable holiday for all of us, all so friendly and helpful. The decor is stunning, cabins spacious, all areas so clean, kept to such a high standard. The guide, Omar, was fabulous as usual, very knowledgeable and went out of his way to ensure we had a wonderful time, not only during the inclusive trips but also a coffee shop experience in his hometown. I can not rate this holiday company and MS Tulip & staff highly enough. Thank you for a memorable & wonderful holiday yet again! Carol, Somerset
  • Whole week on Tulip amazing
    We have just returned from one of your cruises on the MS Tulip (31st December to 7th January). I would like to pass on my thanks to everyone who made our holiday such an experience. All the staff were wonderful, helpful and the whole week was amazing. However, I want to make a special reference to our guide, Mohammed. What an absolute treasure you have there. Such knowledge and a lovely manner. As an archaeologist myself, with having had very little previous dealings with Egyptian Archaeology, I had a lot of questions and he showed so much patience. He really is an asset to your trips and I cannot praise him enough. I do hope he continues to work for you as he such a fabulous representative for both yourselves and Egypt. Many thanks again for a wonderful experience. Penny - Shropshire.
  • Nov 2018.. we have discovered Egypt!
    November 2018 - We had a great time on our 10 day Egypt tour / Nile cruise. We never had a problem and everything from meet & greet to hotels, cruises and tours were all looked after and properly arranged. Our Cairo guide, Mrs. Amal (Hope), was very helpful and amazingly knowledgeable. She interacted with the group and was very pleasant and sociable, even after those long, long days. The love for her job and pride for Egypt was evident. Our guide in Luxor, Mohamed Fouad, was equally up to the task! Mr. Fouad was always available to resolved issues and went out of his way to accommodate our wishes...even going off the tourist path to experience some amazing Turkish coffee at local coffee houses. His knowledge of the sites are exceptional, his kindness refreshing, his professionalism outstanding. Combining all of the above, from the time we set foot in Cairo, to the time we lifted it in Luxor, we can truly say we have discovered Egypt!

Steigenberger Royale

  • Ultimate Long Cruise, Cairo to Aswan
    We booked the Ultimate Long Cruise, Cairo to Aswan which departed 2nd May 2019 and wanted to pass on our thanks to the Discover Egypt team for providing a fantastic cruise and itinerary. We have cruised on the Nile between Luxor and Aswan a number of times and also cruised from Aswan to Abu Simbel on Lake Nasser but had been cancelled from the ‘long cruise’ twice (with another travel agent) due to the political climate in Egypt at the time, so to actually have completed this trip this was a major achievement for us. It certainly was a unique experience and the trip definitely lived up to our expectations – we genuinely had the time of our lives. We were very fortunate to have an excellent, incredibly knowledgeable and passionate Egyptologist/Guide, Mahmoud Azab Omda. Mahmoud greatly enhanced our Ancient Egyptian experience with his passionate storytelling, as well as helping us understand modern-day Egypt. He looked after us with great care even though most of the trip was during Ramadan. With only 4 in our group – it was almost a private tour! Unfortunately for the Jaz Royale team there were only 13 tourists on board but, as a result, we were pampered with table service at Lunch and dinner (not cost effective to put on buffet meals each day) and all the usual amenities and services were available to us. As an added bonus, we were also pleased to be able to disembark at towns along the way for a walk and coffee after dinner, albeit with an armed escort numbering more than us! In Sohag we were welcomed by officials from the Tourist Office and given flags and guidebooks before being taken to a craft market (not staged for us) with absolutely no obligation to buy anything – just full of very welcoming local Egyptians bearing free drinks and sweets! (needless to say, we did purchase a couple of items!). We would highly recommend this tour, it’s just a shame for all concerned that there were so few tourists on the boat when we went. Kevin & Janine
  • Jaz Royale March 2019
    Cairo to Aswan March 2019. Just a quick message to say that my client had a fantastic time on her Long Cruise from Cairo and has been full of praise for yourselves (Discover Egypt), the organization, transfers, sightseeing, ship comfort, staff and food etc. It was a wonderful trip - plus they felt safe and protected.
  • Jaz Royale March 2019
    Cairo to Aswan March 2019. Just a short note to say that we had a fantastic holiday, thanks to Discover Egypt, and your partners. Stephen.

Jaz Yakouta Dahabiya

  • Review of Jaz Yakouta Nile cruise 20-28th January 2020
    A gorgeous, luxurious, exclusive, delightful boat run really efficiently and with great attention and grace. Lovely having the tug as no petrol fumes or thrumming motors, as if we were actually sailing, and mooring up quietly, well away from the main cruise ships was a real bonus. Cabins and bathrooms very comfortable and clean, and larger than I expected, with dressing gowns, slippers, shampoos, shower gels etc. all provided and even a magnifying mirror and hairdryer. 7-star luxury. Beautiful decks and comfortable indoor living room with an excellent library of informative and beautiful books. Wonderful and abundant food cooked to order, and kitchen coped well with the ‘gluten-free’ meals that one of our group required. All staff delightful, attentive but discreet. The cultural tours ran without hitch, all transport on time. Was pleased to be in a small group with a private guide. Highly recommend Jaz Yakouta, and Discover Egypt - a big thumbs up all round. Would do it again in a trace. Belinda
  • Jaz Yakouta and Conrad Cairo 10 nights Feb 2020
    Wings: They couldn’t be faulted - looked after us so well. Special mention of the Cairo representative Ahmed who was incredibly helpful and efficient. He kept track of us during the whole trip with little messages. Airport meet-ups were very easy. He even came out early the last morning to the airport hotel to see us off which was not necessary. He treated us like his elderly parents. I must also mention the good drivers and comfortable vehicles. Guides: The guides provided by Wings were good and excellent in the case of our Cairo guide Amira who accompanied us on the Guizeh Sakkara day and also on the final Coptic Islamic day which were very glad we did. I regretted not taking the half day Egyptian Museum visit with you as we changed our minds once there and found a guide ourselves who was the only unsatisfactory one. Hotels: All three hotels were excellent. Large quiet rooms on high floors with good views. Ahmed looked after our check-in in Cairo to make sure we got the best. The final night at the airport hotel worked very well. Thank you for organizing that. The Winter Pavilion in Luxor is definitely to be recommended. It is set in very beautiful gardens and is close to the Temple. The Cruise: The Jaz Yakouta was absolute luxury and a great experience. From previous feedback you must know how beautiful it is. Everything is polished till it shines. There is a very special atmosphere. Our cabin was extremely comfortable. It was lovely to lie in bed and watch the Nile scenery go by through the large windows. The Manager Mr Kamal and the crew were wonderful, helpful and discreet at the same time. The meals were excellent and varied, always beautifully presented, though extremely copious. There was a good library so we could study gods and pharaohs between visits. We were lucky to be in very good company. We formed a group with two other younger couples, one of whom spoke excellent French. You can see that our holiday in Egypt could not have been better. Thank you for organizing it for us, you did an excellent job. Needless to say we will recommend you to any friends of ours who are planning a trip to Egypt. PS – we were also very happy with our EgyptAir flights