Home About us Destinations Contact us Follow us onFollow us on Twitter
Whats new

Reviews

Sonesta Star Goddess

  • Sonesta Star Goddess and Cairo – March 2017
    We have recently returned from a 3 nights Cairo, and 7 nights Nile cruise with Discover Egypt, and wanted to thank you for a holiday to remember. The planning that you put into holiday was first class meaning that everything ran smoothly. Our hotel in Cairo, le Meridien Pyramids, was a very nice hotel in a great location. Our guide, Faten, was very knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about Egypt and its history, and she made our day very enjoyable, taking us to the Pyramids, Sphinx, Solar Boat, and the Museum as well as lunch in a lovely restaurant. We were in a suite on the Star Sonesta Goddess, and we would recommend this boat to everyone. The suites were very spacious, and comfortable, and the food was plentiful varied, and excellent. The crew were very attentive, and polite, and a special thank you to Emad our waiter/ steward. Every day we were taken on tours to some of the most amazing temples and tombs, and the sights will stay with us forever. There were only 6 people in our party for the tours, who became good friends over the week, so we had plenty of time to enjoy everything at our own pace, and were never rushed at all. Our guide for the week was Essam whose passion and knowledge about everywhere we went was infectious, and he really helped make the tours exciting. We would strongly recommend Essam as a tour guide for your company in Egypt. We must point out that we never at any time felt unsafe in Egypt, and the local people were very friendly. Once again, thank you very much for the effort that your company put in to making our holiday very special. Nigel & Liz - Northampton

MS Mayfair

  • MS MAYFAIR FEB 2017
    We had a fantastic time! The organisation of flights, transfers, boat and excursions was perfect - everything went very smoothly and all the staff and guides were very friendly and attentive. The MS Mayfair was a great boat to be on - we appreciated the quality compared to some others we saw on the river - and made full use of the facilities and the drinks package! We were very lucky to have great weather for our week that made travelling nice - at just the right temperatures. The visits to the Temples were excellent - with so few tourists we could view as much as required with no queues or waiting around. So, big thanks from all of us to all on Board the MS Mayfair and to you for organising a great holiday. We'll be recommending it to anyone who'll listen! Russ and Chrissi, George and Jan - February 2017
  • Cruise and Cairo - Jan 2017
    just a quick thank you for arranging a wonderful holiday for us.We arrived home Wednesday evening after 11 wonderful days in Egypt. Everything went so smoothly and just a promised. We loved every minute of being there. What a wonderful country and people! Many thanks for all your help. Karen - Wales.
  • Nile Cruise Jan 2017
    I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent Nile cruise on MS Mayfair. The arrangements you made were impeccable. The food, the accommodation, the hospitality on board, the excursions and our guide Omar were all outstandingly good. Many thanks indeed. James - Brighton.
  • Nile Cruise and stay Feb 2017
    The holiday (both cruise and Luxor stay) was everything we hoped for, and some. The Mayfair - well, it was a beautiful boat that entirely lived up to the photos, which I know from experience is not always the case! It's like a very stylish boutique hotel, spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained. It surpassed our expectations and was extraordinary value - we'd all done our research on different boats before booking and could not believe the quality for the price compared with others - outstanding. Service was excellent and our Egyptologist, Islam, was wonderful. The food ranged from excellent to OK, the excellent being the Egyptian food, the OK being not-quite-successful versions of western dishes. We all wished there had been more Egyptian dishes (I for one would have been delighted if it had all be Egyptian) but my experience on other cruises and resort hotels has been the same. We were so glad we chose this option of a week in Luxor after the cruise. Our extra week meant we could re-visit several places and spend as long as we liked. And, of course, we could visit other places not on the cruise itinerary. So, for us, a perfect combination and, again, fantastic value for money at just a couple of hundred extra.
  • MS MAYFAIR JAN 2017
    I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent Nile cruise on MS Mayfair. The arrangements you made were impeccable. The food, the accommodation, the hospitality on board, the excursions and our guide Omar were all outstandingly good. Many thanks indeed. Regards James - Brighton
  • Excellent - December 2016
    December 2016 - MS Mayfair Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful holiday. The support provided in Egypt was great. Our stay on the Mayfair was excellent , we were overfed with superb food and the staff were brilliant. The guide Islam on the Mayfair went beyond his call of duty to provide us with wonderful and informative holiday. And thank you for arranging what was a complex travel arrangements for us and my niece. Mr and Mrs J.Harrow,Middlesex
  • Ms Mayfair - wonderful holiday!
    MS Mayfair 19 September 2016 I can't thank you enough for another wonderful holiday! I have just returned from my second trip to Egypt, as a solo traveller this time, organised by this fantastic company! Collected at the airport by one of several English speaking guides, I was taken to MS Mayfair, docked in Luxor. It certainly doesn't disappoint, it offers luxurious accommodation, exceptional service & scrumptious food. I also knew I would be so well looked after & safe, these people go the extra mile for sure, they are so caring, they really want you to enjoy their country! I thoroughly enjoyed the excursions, although I had visited these places before, I was given another perspective by a different guide this time. The guides are extremely knowledgeable & so passionate about these wonders. I made an additional trip this time to Abu Simbel & wow... it was a truly awesome sight. We travelled by road & were also able to witness the breath-taking sunrise over the Sahara as well as the incredible 'Mirage'. I will return for sure & hope to venture further using MS Mayfair as a base, it is exceptional. I wouldn't hesitate to do this trip alone again, I felt so safe at all times. Thank you again to Discover Egypt for providing a wonderful itinerary & to all staff for making this another very special experience. Carol – Somerset.
  • MS Mayfair 05 sep 2016
    Nile Cruise 05 September 2016 I just wanted to say thank you we had a fantastic holiday. The Mayfair was amazing - the cabins are lovely spacious and spotless. The staff are very hard working and so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble and they always found time for a chat. The food is outstanding and anything you don't like or eat was swooped for an alternative. The itinerary was perfect and our guide Waleed so knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does he brought Egypt to life for me who had no previous experience of the country. The holiday was superbly organised and everything went smoothly Sue – Manchester.
  • Wonderful holiday - MS Mayfair
    MS Mayfair – MAY 2016 We have recently returned from a two week holiday in Egypt with Discover Egypt and we would like to thank you for what was a wonderful holiday experience. It was a holiday which lived up to every expectation and was great value for money. We will certainly consider future holidays with your company and will be recommending you to family and friends. The first week of our holiday was a Nile cruise from 2nd May 2016 to 9th May on board the MS Mayfair, sailing from Luxor to Aswan and return. Although both of us have been to Egypt on holiday before, this was our first ever cruise and what a wonderful experience it was. I can honestly say that the MS Mayfair looked exactly as it was portrayed in your website pictures but in reality everything was much more spacious than it appeared in the pictures. The word which best described this vessel would be luxurious. The crew were extremely friendly and helpful at all times and the same was true of Waleed, our tour guide/Egyptologist who accompanied us for the whole week. Our Discover Egypt group consisted of only 18 passengers and we were joined for a few days at a time by some American guests. As a group we got on very well socially and we met some lovely people who enhanced the holiday experience. Whilst it was lovely to have so few people on such a large vessel at the same time we felt so sorry for the crew and the struggling Egyptian Tourism industry. It is as safe to holiday in Egypt as any other holiday destination and at no time during our stay did we feel in any danger. In fact the security at Luxor airport was far superior to Heathrow. Suitcases were examined twice, hand luggage examined four times, numerous body searches and we were swabbed twice checking for explosives! It is high time that more flights to Egypt are made available to the British tourist and more destinations catered for. The standard of cuisine was excellent and I cannot see where anyone would have cause for complaint. The food was at all times plentiful and there were always plenty of options to choose from leading to the tendency to over eat! During the entire cruise I am not aware of any of the group suffering from a stomach bug. We opted for the all-inclusive drinks package which was value for money and essential in view of the temperatures. It was great to be able to order drinks without having to worry about a bill at the end of the holiday. Only having holidayed in Egypt in the past during the month of November I was surprised by how much hotter it was in May. Daily temperatures were regularly in excess of 40c which admittedly made some of the excursions rather hard going, especially where no shade was available. One evening when we stepped on the sundeck at 11pm the temperature was still 31c. The included excursion programme was excellent and also was great value for money. Had you to pay for each of the excursions privately it would have cost a small fortune. Our guide Waleed was very informative and very patient and allowed us plenty of time at each destination. All in all, the weeks cruise was a wonderful experience and something we would both like to enjoy again in the future. Yours sincerely Paul and Anne May 2016
  • SUPERB HOLIDAY MARCH 2016
    3 NIGHTS CAIRO,7 NIGHTS MS MAYFAIR CRUISE. March 28 2016 I can't thank you enough Discover Egypt, you all helped so much with any questions, 1st class service. Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel, Cairo, was fabulous, the guides, Amal & Mohammed were like friends & we felt totally safe at all times. The staff couldn't do enough for us at the Hotel & on the cruise. We were taken to 2 lovely restaurants to eat on the excursions we booked in Cairo, great food & excellent service, above & beyond what we expected! Ms Mayfair is luxurious, plenty of delicious food, the staff attentive & superb guides Walid & Ash. Everyone went that bit further to ensure we were happy & had everything we needed. It makes me sad to see how the media have destroyed tourism here, the people are so friendly & helpful, we felt so safe wherever we were. The trips were very well organised & I have to say there were more than several spine tingling moments, seeing these wonders & hearing how they engineered these monuments without today's equipment & technology, astounding! Amal & Walid spoke with passion & made each trip a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this holiday & really could go on & on. I've booked to go back on the cruise in May, on my own as I regret not doing some of the excursions & I know I will be well looked after. I think that says it all, truly a holiday of a lifetime! One last thing, if you enjoy a glass or 2 of excellent wine or beer with your meals or even a short, I would take the drinks package, fantastic value. Many many thanks to all! Carol – Somerset.
  • an amazing holiday
    MS MAYFAIR 04 APRIL 2016 My family has just returned from our trip down the Nile and I just wanted to tell you that we had the most amazing time! The organisation and application of the details were first class. Everyone did as promised with no problems what so ever. Cairo was fabulous, the Mayfair was stunning and the guide Islam was superb. It truly was one of the best holidays ever according to all 4 of us! I can't praise everything enough from beginning to end. Needless to say we will start saving to do a similar trip in a few years we hope when we can learn more! Thanks to you and Please pass on our wholehearted thanks to the guys in Egypt who gave us such an amazing holiday. Angela
  • A memorable holiday - March 2016
    A group of 4 of us recently went on a Nile cruise and I wanted to write and express our satisfaction with the whole booking. The week before the cruise you wrote and told us we were being moved to the MS Mayfair sad the boat we had booked was not sailing. We arrive to a lovely clean, happy, helpful boat and staff and this remained for the whole of the cruise even when there were only 12 of us on board. The rooms were a good size, well-appointed and clean. The public areas were very nicely furnished with the exception of the roof terrace where the cushions were looking a little tired and need the covers replacing. The tours were excellent and I have to say a big thank you to Hassan, our guide, who made them so interesting and memorable. His knowledge was fantastic and we learnt so much. The food on the boat was very good, we personally preferred the buffet style dinner rather than a menu to choose from but all the food was wonderful. If we had one criticism it was that we paid for the all-inclusive drinks package and often felt like 2nd class citizens as we weren't given bottles of beer but glasses, we were given small glasses of wine when others had large. I understand that you are trying to prevent abuse but this is not the sort of trip where that happens and we just wanted to feel valued, take that you had taken £360 for drinks from the 4 of us and I'm sure not many other people spent that during the cruise. (Editor’s note: The All-inclusive concept is always offered in this way – drinks by the glass) Many thanks again for a very memorable holiday Suzanne – Hampshire.
  • Memorable and Magic
    Nile Cruise - March 2016 I would like to say what an amazing holiday it was. Magical and memorable just about sums it up. The staff on board went that extra mile to make everything just that little bit special. The security was impressive and the Egyptian people so welcoming and friendly. I just feel sad that more tourists are not visiting Egypt. It has so much to offer and it felt completely safe. Thank you for organising such a wonderful holiday for me. Mrs W. Surrey.

Nile Cruise 7 nights

  • A special memory
    We have recently returned from a Nile cruise and stay in Cairo. The holiday was excellent and we could not do more than thoroughly recommend it. The boat, The Sonesta Star Goddess was excellent, as was the food and the staff who were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. It is things like this that really make the holiday a special memory. Our guide for this part of the trip was Islam. He was very friendly, knowledgeable without making you feel that you would need to sit an exam later. In talking to our friends we can do no more than recommend DiscoverEgypt, The Sonesta Star Goddess and especially our tour guide Islam. Fran and Trevor 20 February 2017
  • Just back 19 Sep 2016
    Just back from our Nile Cruise on the Star Goddess. The staff take such good care of us we have only to decide which clothes to wear. Lovely lovely crew. So friendly and hardworking. The food was excellent as usual. Thank you to everyone on the ship and our Egyotologist for the week Ashraf. Start saving for next time now.
  • Best holiday ever - May 2016
    We returned back to the UK on 31st May 2016 after spending 10 very enjoyable days in Egypt. We wish to convey our thanks to all concerned both in the UK and Egypt for making the holiday truly memorable, it has been without doubt the best holiday we have taken. The organisation, advice and information, locations and helpfulness of all staff encountered beforehand and then in both Cairo and on the Nile cruise were exemplary. From the moment we were met at Cairo airport by Mohammed, we were looked after in a way we had never previously experienced. Mohammed, our driver Ahmed and Egyptologist Abeer were wonderful. The stay in Cairo was everything we hoped for and far more. The Nile cruise aboard the Sonesta Star Goddess can only be described as magical, the staff were fantastic, the food superb and Omar Habibi our guide, was without doubt, exceptional in terms of his knowledge, patience and making us feel welcome in his homeland. If Discover Egypt has any form of recognition awards we would like to nominate Omar Habibi for exceptional service, he is a truly wonderful ambassador for both Egypt and Discover Egypt. We enjoyed every minute of our time in Egypt, we hoped that the holiday would be enjoyable but what we encountered far exceeded all expectations. Thank you for the best holiday we have taken and for the best 50th birthday Elaine could ever have had. We will definitely be in touch to book with Discover Egypt for us to return to Egypt hopefully next year. Shaun and Elaine
  • Wonderful, wonderful August 2014
    This just to let you know, we had a wonderful, wonderful time on our Egyptian holiday. The Nile Cruise was out of this world. I was expecting the image painted by Agatha Christie from the 1920's and when we were moved to the Sonesta boats, that's just about what we got with a modern twist. The tours were excellent, informative and Mohsen really brought the ancient Egyptian world to life. Hurghada was very different, being as it was a family resort but we soon adapted and enjoyed 2 great excursions with your guide. Overall a superb time was had by all and we would like to thank all your staff for their expertise and attentive care during our stay Jenny 11 August 2014

Classic Egypt 10 nights

  • First class - November 2015
    Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our recent trip to Egypt courtesy of Discover Egypt. Our 14 night trip consisting of Nile Cruise, stay at Luxor's Maritim Hotel and 3 nights at Cairo's Mena House Hotel ended on 7 December 2015. The reps at all stages were brilliant arriving on schedule and meeting our needs in arranging excursions and providing us with the necessary information to make out holiday stress-free. The guides-particularly Radwan, Mohommed and Abdul were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable and looked after us very well throughout. The hotels we stayed at suited us well, particularly the Maritim Jollie Ville in Luxor which was first class. November 2015
  • Cruise and Cairo - February 2014
    It goes without saying that my daughter and I enjoyed our Nile Cruise with your company. I hope the message gets around that this area is safe for tourism to Egypt. Ray from Clywd
  • Very impressed - January 2014
    Just to let you know my friend and I had a wonderful trip and were very impressed with all the arrangements/guides/travel etc in Egypt - all went without any problems at all. Well done to you all and the team. Mollie
  • Viking Princess and Mercure Le Sphinx
    Thank you for arranging an incredible holiday. The cruise was fantastic and it's a great company to go with. We saw a few of the other Nile cruise ships and the Viking Princess is by far the best. The reps and the guides were great in explaining everything and it was so luxurious! The excursions was so well organised and I learnt so much. Cairo was really great as well.The hotel(Mercure Le Sphinx) was really clean with great views of the pyramids and really friendly staff. The pool is great as is the spa and there are beautiful grounds. Thank you! Sarah and Dave
  • Worked like clockwork
    We have just returned from our Egyptian trip and I have to compliment Discover Egypt for the organization of our trip. It worked like clockwork. All the transfers were extremely efficient. The Nile Cruise was remarkable and we both felt handled very well. Our guides were very knowledgeable in fact what they didn't know about Egypt was not worth knowing. The hotel in Cairo was lovely overlooking the Pyramids and the tours in Cairo were also extremely well organized. In fact we did not have one complaint about the whole trip. I will definitely promote Discover Egypt to any of my friends who want to do this journey and there seems to be quite a bit of interest. Once again many thanks Regards Linda and Mike Calgary, Alberta
  • Amazing 10 days!
    Hi there We have just spent the most amazing 10 days - 7 days sailing on Royal Viking on the Nile with stops at Temples and the Valley of the Kings on the way then on to Cairo to see the Pyramids and downtown Cairo. I can't praise Discover Egypt enough. Your reps and guides looked after us every step of the way from the moment we arrived in Egypt until we got back on the plane to fly home. Facilities on the Royal Viking and at the Ramses Hilton were outstanding. The service was excellent and all done with a smile. I never felt any unwillingness, only a genuine desire to see we were well looked after. I would especially like to mention Amira Zaki who was our guide on the Nile cruise and Ayman Fathy who was with us for our day at the pyramids and Saqqara. Their knowledge and enthusiasm is second to none. Not only did we hear about ancient Egypt but we were also given an insight into modern day Egypt. It all made the holiday that much more memorable and they are to be commended for their efforts and the constant high standard of their work. I shall definitely recommend this holiday. Many thanks - Liz Tyne and Wear
  • Classic Egypt
    I would just like to offer my thanks for the faultless arrangements you oversaw for our recent cruise on the Nile and hotel stay in Cairo Egypt. I would have no hesitation in recommending fellow Brits to take a cruise on the Nile, particularly the MS Royal Viking, where the cleanliness and catering arrangements were first class. The staff were both friendly and accommodating. The local Agent “Discover Egypt” has some excellent Guides who spoke English fluently, whilst having a commanding knowledge of their local history. Well done again! Kevin

Ancient Egypt 14 nights

  • Holiday of a lifetime - February 2014
    Dear Caroline, We returned from our 14 night trip with Discover Egypt last Monday and I wanted to contact you to say how much we enjoyed the holiday. Egypt was fabulous and the organisation provided by Discover Egypt was faultless. From start to finish we were treated as five star guests and everything from transfers to excursions was excellent. The food, the service, the staff: wonderful. The Egyptologists were excellent - they brought the visits to life and we felt privileged to have such experts with us. (perhaps they could have offered us brief talks in the evenings before the outings as that would have added even more to the quality of the experience, instead of, or as an alternative to, the evening entertainment). The Steigenberger Nile Palace was a very good hotel, especially with the Nile view - whereas the Mena House palace in Cairo was incredible. The best hotel I have ever stayed in with pyramid view, superb service and attention to detail. Wonderful. Many people we encountered encouraged us to spread the word on our return about how safe and inviting Egypt is - and this we are certainly doing. This was the holiday of a lifetime and far exceeded our highest expectations. Thank you for your part in the excellent service provided by Discover Egypt. Andrew
  • Holiday of a Lifetime - January 2013
    We have just returned from our holiday in Egypt starting 16th January 2013. We flew to Luxor where we met out guide Yasser rep it was just a short journey to the boat Viking Princess. We then went on to have a holiday of a life time. it was a beautiful and interesting journey just sailing down the Nile with a view of the shores. We also had fascinating visits to the different temples all very different and Yasser our guide chose the most interesting parts to help our understanding of their building and design. Other outstanding sights included standing on the Aswan Dam with a view of Lake Nasser and the Nile, and the journey through the desert to Abu Simbel with the rising sun and a view of the mirage. The sail in the Fulucca was beautiful and an optional extra the bird watching trip enabled us to see numerous birds at close quarters including kingfishers and three different types of herons. We had lots of fun on the boat, the company was great and there was a variety of entertainment. The staff on the boat were exceptional in their care and enthusiasm. The restaurant food and service was excellent. We then flew to Cairo (for 3 nights) staying at the lovely Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx with a view of the pyramids from our room. At all times we were well cared for by the reps on the transfers. We had a fascinating day visiting the pyramids and another visiting the Museum where our very knowledgeable guide chose the most interesting exhibits to visit . We also really enjoyed visiting the Citadel and Mosque. We flew back to Luxor for 4 nights staying at Sofitel Karnak. The views of the Nile again were exceptional. We had a lovely room and balcony. We made the most of the facilities at the hotel swimming in the large heated pool, playing squash and tennis and using the Jacuzzi. Again the service was excellent. Sue and Chris - Cheshire.

Enchanting Egypt 14 nights

  • A truly wonderful experience - January 2014
    Thank you Discover Egypt for the wonderful holiday we have just experienced. We returned last night from 14 nights Nile Cruise, Cairo and Red Sea. The cruise and all the excursions were first class, from being met at the airport in Luxor to being returned to Luxor yesterday for our homeward flight we couldn't have asked for more. Mohamed and Ahmed, the guides on board Royal Viking, were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and made discovering Egypt a truly wonderful experience. In Cairo our guide was yet another Mohammed, this time Big Mo, and once again he was fantastic and made our visit everything we could have wished for and at no time did we feel uncomfortable with the troubles in Cairo. We had our reservations! but what a pity that so many people avoid Cairo. Our guide took us to the Egyptian Museum at 9am and showed us round in reverse order so that we almost had Tutankhamen to ourselves. Unforgettable! The final days in El Gouna were a much needed relaxation after all the early mornings for the various excursions and very much enjoyed. One last mention must be the reps and drivers who met us and ensured a smooth transit through the airports and from one place to another. Thank you Discover Egypt. Sue and John

Cruise, Cairo & Sharm 13 nights

  • We would have no hesitation in recommending your company - 04 Feb 2013
    We have been very impressed by your company and everyone involved with Discover Egypt and Viking has been very attentive and obliging. We have never moved through an airport so quickly as we did at Luxor on arrival!! Everything went smoothly and we were very soon on-board the Royal Viking. Thank you very much for booking us into the Mena House Hotel. It is one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. We regretted not having another night in Cairo but maybe next time... We had a lovely guide in Cairo - Nermine - who was an absolute delight and very knowledgeable. As we got a later flight we thought we might miss out on something but Nermine still managed to fit in taking us to the museum and the pyramids. She was disappointed we did not take her up on her offer of lunch but we did want to get booked into the hotel. She certainly, again, could not do enough for us. We arrived in Sharm to be greeted again by a Discover Egypt rep and whisked off to the Savoy which was very nice indeed and, although we were both under the weather, we enjoyed our stay there also. We would have no hesitation in recommending your company to anyone thinking of going to Egypt. It was very stress free and you are too modest in your advertisements as to what you actually provide Elaine and Eric Cumbria February 2013

Egypt & Jordan 13 nights

  • Egypt and Jordan Dec 2016
    I thought I'd drop you a line to tell you how much I, my daughter and 9 year old grandson enjoyed our holiday to Egypt and Jordan with Discover Egypt. It truly was a fabulous holiday and I can't thank you and everyone involved enough in making this such a magical trip for us. The boat Mayfair was superb. The quality of the accommodation, the food and the staff were amazing and our guide, Islam Mostafa was so knowledgeable and interesting that we learned so much more about ancient Egyptian history than we thought possible. He was also great fun. In Jordan our driver Ayed AL-Hasasneh was a great companion and helpful guide. The quality of the hotels and staff both in Giza and Jordan was first class. We could not have asked for more. I have recommended your company to many of my friends and family, stressing how much both Egypt and Jordan need tourists and how wonderful the people are, and that they should seriously consider a trip to both of these countries and they couldn't do better than travel with Discover Egypt. To those who were concerned about security we assured them that security everywhere was first class (probably better than the UK or here in Australia). So once again thank you for a fantastic holiday. We hope to travel with you again. Pam – Australia.
  • Thank you for a very well organised holiday
    We would like to thank Karma House Travel, via Discover Egypt, for our very well organised holiday to Jordan from November 7th to 11th 2012. We would particularly like to mention our wonderful driver, Ehab, who was a very pleasant person to be with on our travels. We had confidence in Ehab because he was such a careful and thoughtful driver when he took us on our tour of Jordan. Thank you Ehab. Regards, Peter and Janice
  • Egypt and Jordan a wonderful combination
    A huge thank you from us both Lin for the wonderful job you did with organizing our trip to Egypt and Jordan. We have never had a holiday so well planned and go without a hitch. We will highly recommend your company and Discover Egypt to friends who may wish to travel in the future. Best regards Ron and Barbie

Luxor & Cairo 7 nights

  • Go with Discover Egypt and it could not be a better holiday - 11 Feb 2013
    Thank you so much for looking after us so well in Egypt. I would highly recommend Discover Egypt – they looked after us extremely well from start to finish of our holiday. We went as a family with a 13 and 15 year old. We were met at the airport had a private mini bus at our disposal and extremely knowledgeable guides at all times. The representative in each stop Luxor and Cairo made sure we were fine and looked after us from the time we landed to the time we boarded and at no time did we feel unsafe or not looked after. It is definitely a country to visit as tourism is very much down at the moment and you are able to enter all sites without a queue ! Go with Discover Egypt and it could not be a better holiday. Richard- Bristol,

Nile Cruise & Luxor 14 nights

  • Wonderful week May 2016
    Mercure Karnak Luxor After a week cruising the Nile between Luxor and Aswan on the MS Mayfair, we spent our second week from 9th May 2016 to 16th May at the Mercure Karnak Luxor hotel. I chose this hotel, based on the fact that it was situated on the outskirts of Luxor and therefore likely to be more peaceful and also due to the brochure pictures which showed a beautiful swimming pool area and very impressive looking gardens. We were not disappointed in our choice. Everything was exactly as it was portrayed in the brochure with the exception that everything was much larger in real life. The hotel grounds were vast and beautifully tended to. The swimming pool was enormous and made to look even bigger by the fact there were only ever a few people using it. The Opet restaurant defies description. It was capable of seating several hundred people and is designed in the form of an Egyptian temple. It was a beautiful location for meals. The standard of cuisine was excellent. The food was plentiful and there was always numerous varieties of dishes to choose from the chef was always there offering to cook special dishes if you did not fancy what was already on offer. It was actually upsetting at times to see all the hard work and preparation that had gone into the meals and then to find that you were the only two people dining. There were hardly any guests staying at the hotel which is suffering badly from the drop in tourism and yet it is as safe to holiday in Egypt as any other holiday destination and at no time during our stay did we feel in any danger. High time that more flight are made available to Luxor and from more destinations! We cannot praise the staff highly enough. The restaurant, reception, pool, bar, gardening and cleaning staff all did a wonderful job and were without exception a credit to their hotel. The hotel was on the outskirts of Luxor and was even further out than the Luxor Hilton where I had stayed a few times in the past but taxis were readily available from reception and at very reasonable fixed prices per return journey. We met a charming taxi driver by the name of Tarek Crocodile and used his air conditioned taxi for all of our trips and excursions throughout the week. His prices were fixed and very reasonable and the service he provided was excellent. When the organized excursion to Dendera and Abydos could not take place as I was the only person wanting to go, I merely hired Tarek and his taxi for the day and so did not miss out. Temperatures during our second week were even hotter than the first week and several days actually came with a government health warning to stay indoors. We, however were quite comfortable poolside, under a shade and ordering endless drinks as part of the all- inclusive package! The only minor criticism we had of the hotel was that the rooms had only two power points with the TV connected to one and the kettle to another and the position of these power points made it virtually impossible for the elderly or infirm to reach them. Our problem was resolved by the receptionist who provided us with an extension cable. Other than that we had no complaints and would be very happy to stay at the hotel in the future and to recommend it to family and friends. This hotel deserves many more guests than it is currently receiving and I hope tourist numbers soon increase. Egypt is a country strongly dependent on tourism and if you consider that annual tourist numbers have dropped from 14 million to 1 million it might give you an idea of how the people are struggling. They need your support so drop be afraid to holiday in Egypt. We had a wonderful two weeks and will be returning in the future. Paul and Anne - Scotland.
  • Wonderful holiday - February 2014
    Hi, We returned on 22nd February 2014 from a wonderful holiday to Cairo and Luxor with you. The service we received from you was second to none from the minute we booked, The travel agent we used had never been there so we were reliant on information from your staff to help pick hotels etc.., They help us pick the most wonderful hotels, where the staff were outstanding. The Mercure Cairo le Sphinx was wonderful, your staff recommended having the pyramid view room, and the view was great, and well worth the extra cost. I asked for something a bit special for Luxor and your staff suggested The winter pavilion, and it certainly was special, the whole hotel and its staff was amazing, The reps that met us at the airports were fantastic, we had Assem Saladin at Cairo and Mohamed at Luxor, and both gave more than first class service, we managed to leave our tablets in Cairo and between the Assem, Mohamed and the hotel they did their best to get them to us, When this couldn't be done, (not through lack of trying), Mohamed asked the guide we had for trips (sorry i cant remember his name) to take us to a chemist and they managed to get the most important ones. We have never received service like this from any other holiday company. We will be telling anyone wanting to go to Egypt, to use yourselves as they wont get a better holiday from anyone else. We ourselves will always use you for any holidays we take to Egypt in the future. Thank you for a wonderful holiday and wonderful service. Paula and Philip Bournemouth.

Nile Cruise & El Gouna 14 nights

  • Superb Holiday - January 2014
    We arrived back from a Nile cruise and 7 day break at El Gouna at the end of January.I am writing to congratulate your company on a superb holiday.From beginning to end we could not fault the service.The Viking Princess is a lovely boat with polite staff and our tour guide Yasser brought everything to life.Everyone was helpful.Our week on El Gouna was made enjoyable by our rep there,Wahid,who put himself out for us. Thank you once again.I have recommended you to everyone who has not been. Elisabeth - Somerset.

Lake Nasser Cruises

  • Fifth trip and best - Nov 2014
    November 2014 - We were at Movenpick Aswan x4 nts, Omar el Khayam cruise x4 nts and Hilton Luxor x3nts. Congratulations - all your arrangements worked very well and all your Reps were good. This was our fifth trip to Egypt and we think the best. We will certainly book through you when we return. John - Hants.

Nile Cruise & Hurghada 14 nights

  • Wonderful holiday - March 2014
    Just to say that a friend and I are just back from Egypt and need to tell you all that we had a wonderful time (11/3 – 25/3). Our flight was from Manchester to Cairo and then Cairo to Luxor. We were met at Cairo by a representative of Discover Egypt and taken to immigration to get our Visas. Thank you for making this as easy as possible – we may have struggled on our own. We were them met at Luxor and escorted to the Royal Viking. We spent the first week on the Royal Viking cruising the Nile from Luxor to Aswan, visiting temples along the way. We can only say that we had not experienced anything like it. The knowledge of our Guide – Mohammed was endless, there was no questions left unanswered. The Crew on board the Royal Viking were brilliant – from the waiters in the bar to the cabin lads. Nothing was too much trouble. We never new what sort of towel art we would find when we went back to our cabin in the evening – brilliant. One of the day when we were sailing all day we were given a tour of the boat, even the kitchens – as you would expect all preparation areas where colour co-ordinated and scrupulously clean. We always appreciated the warm flannels and drink on our return to the boat after an outing. All in all a very good week. The cruise was a wonderful experience and will stay with us forever. We then transferred to The Movenpick in Hurghada. Once again – not disappointed. Large clean comfortable room, comfy beds and staff that could not do enough for you. Animation Team worked really hard to make your stay as relaxed as possible whilst not vegetating. Not many English about but we certainly let them know that we were there. Great rivalry playing French Boules with the Russians and Saudis alike. Restaurant was large (you could eat inside or out) with excellent waiters and tables were cleared efficiently. Beach Bar open all day for drinks and snacks with again welcoming smiles and very efficient service. Captains Bar was also run effortlessly. We were asked numerous times a day if there was anything else they could do to make our stay any better. Thank you Discover Egypt for organising this fabulous experience for us, and we sure that this is the norm and not the exception – so everyone we would recommend Discover Egypt to all our friends and family. Linda and Sandra - Manchester
  • Royal Viking and Citadel Azur
    I would like to thank you for making our honeymoon so wonderful. My husband and I were'nt sure what to expect but it was one of the best experiences I've ever had! We were on the Royal Viking before moving over to the Citadel Azur and everything about our honeymoon was wonderful. Thank you again Joanne (Chester) 12 - 26 Sept 2012.