Home About us Destinations Contact us Follow us onFollow us on Twitter
Whats new

Reviews

Royal Viking

  • Wonderful Nile Cruise Feb 2016
    February 2016 We had a wonderful week, and were suitably awe-inspired by the antiquities. But we were also extremely impressed by the “Discover Egypt “ experience. The service was flawless throughout, and we were incredibly impressed by our guide, Ahmed, who was extremely knowledgable, spoke excellent English, and really went the extra mile to make sure the whole group got as much out of the holiday as possible John and Theresa - London.
  • What a fantastic holiday
    My Mother-in-law and myself booked a two week trip to Egypt, 5/10/15 1st week on the Royal Viking Nile Cruise, 2nd week at the Mercure Luxor Karnak Hotel in Luxor next to the Nile, what a fantastic holiday, from the moment we stepped onto the plane the care and the quality of the holiday began, we were served soft drinks, offered a newspaper and then we received a meal and we were not charged a penny, we landed and were met by the guide from Discovery Egypt who dealt with the visa required to enter Luxor, nice clean air con bus transferred us to the boat, which was lovely and clean, everyone on board were a pleasure to meet, the food was great and nothing was to much trouble for them, the trips were well organized, with an Egyptian guy called Radwan who spoke great English, so knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Egypt, steps were taking to ensure cross infection didn't happen on the boat, hot flannels sprayed with ant-bac were given when we returned to the boat after every trip and hand sanitizers were placed around the boat and must be used before entering the dining area, which I found excellent, Keep it up Royal Viking!!! also in the evening after dinner when we returned to our cabin the cleaners had been in again and made a lovely things out of towel each day was different, sadly that week went so fast, 12/10/15 2nd week we were then transferred to the Mercure Luxor Karnak hotel, beautiful place right next to the Nile river, it has the feel of a country park, great swimming pool, great food and the staff were great too . We booked a day out in Cairo again we were looked after from the moment we were picked up at the hotel, taken to Luxor airport, met at Cairo had our own driver and guide around Cairo, cannot fault the quality of the holiday, it was just amazing and would recommend it to anyone, and it was a safe place to have a holiday, its a shame our own media try to say other, go and see for yourself Caroline and Eileen – Lincolnshire. Royal Viking and Mercure Karnak 05 October 2015
  • Royal Viking 07 Sep 2015
    Just got back from Nile cruise on board Royal Viking(7 – 14 Sep 2015). Wonderful holiday, exceeded expectations; boat was very comfortable, staff courteous and helpful, food excellent. Alaa the guide was brilliant, extremely knowledgeable and a very sympathetic person. Thank you for a great holiday. Mrs C. Nottingham.
  • Nile Cruise 16th-23rd March 2015 Royal Viking
    From The moment our plane landed at Luxor airport, the Discover Egypt reps were there for us. Whilst it was late at night, they gave us a short arrival briefing before we boarded the Royal Viking and were allocated our cabin. We were on the top deck (worth the extra money) and on the starboard side, so we were very pleased with #404 with its Juliet balcony. Early the next morning we met our two guides Mohammed and Mohammed from Discover Egypt who were unbelievably supportive in everything we did. Not only are they awesome Egyptologists who brought the history of every site to life, but they also provided us with information to deal with the stall holders, manage the prices, what to eat and drink to stay well and danced with us at the Galabaya parties on board. I cannot recommend these two guides highly enough and would be pleased if you could pass on our praise to Discover Egypt. We were happy that we remained well and fit throughout the cruise as the kitchen and dining room were kept spotlessly clean and the mostly European food was well balanced and tasty. We were a small group in total so we had princely treatment on board from the very friendly and helpful staff. Shirley & Richard - Bucks
  • An extremely interesting, impeccable holiday
    December 2014 - We enjoyed an extremely interesting, impeccable holiday thanks to Discover Egypt. Your representatives gave us all the information and details we needed as we went to the Nile, the Red Sea, and on to Giza, and the guides were fantastic. Our drivers were lovely and were always there when we needed them. Our holiday was fascinating, restful, and beautifully planned thanks to your company's immense experience. This was probably the best family holiday we've ever taken. I wish we could do it for the first time all over again! Many thanks and best wishes for success in 2015.
  • Fantastic Nile cruise - February 2014
    Just a note to say what a wonderful holiday we had recently in Egypt. We are both very interested in ancient history and have longed to visit the wonderful scenes of a bygone era. We boarded the Royal Viking in late February and right from the beginning we knew it was going to be a wonderful cruise. The boat was very clean, food very good and the standard of hygiene high. Our guides Mohammed and Hussein were exceptional in their care for us, their knowledge and their friendly manner making it a fantastic experience. The evening entertainment on board the boat was enjoyable too. I know the tourist industry has been badly affected in recent years but i would urge people to go as it is a truly memorable holiday- our only regret was that it had to end. We will definitely be back. Meredith and Elisabeth - Belfast
  • a dream come true - March 31 2014
    This cruise was everything we had hoped for and more. The boat was extremely comfortable, we were well fed and cared for by a super crew. Our "cabin" was spacious, so comfortable and well cared for by our two stewards. Their sense of humor was brilliant. Every night a new "surprise". The public rooms were excellent and the roof top absolute bliss. The dining room service was top notch too. Best of all was our fantastic egyptologist Mohsin. He shared his knowledge with good grace and humor and really made our trip unforgettable. Our only regret was that it was two short, we would have liked to do it all over again for a second week. It was a dream come true. Thank you all so much. Roger & Mary
  • Royal Viking 24 March 2014
    Dear Caroline This is late but heartfelt. I wanted to thank you so much for a wonderful holiday. You and the team produced an immaculately organized and fascinating week. Goodness knows how you do it but you did. I loved it – and I know Carolyn did too.Trust you are happily back in the office. Thank you again for all your consideration and excellent care. Lizy London
  • Fantastic - March 2014
    We have just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday aboard the Royal Viking(31 March 2014) . Everyone made us feel welcome and our guides Radwan and Yasser. were both brilliant. We were sorry to have to come home! Many thanks to all at Discover Egypt. Everything was well organised and we were well looked after. Lynne and David - Norwich
  • Cruise and Cairo - March 2014
    Just to say what a fantastic holiday we have just had. It is such a shame people are not going to Egypt. The Discovery Egypt Agent & Guides were so helpful. The Egyptologist on the Royal Viking Trip was so passionate about his subject, and his knowledge extensive. The Staff was helpful, all areas especially the bedrooms were spotless. In Cairo the only down side was how noisy and dirty Cairo is. This obviously not your fault. Therefore 3 nights was just right. We felt safe and enjoyed all that was offered. Back to Luxor and bliss. We just relaxed in the beautiful surroundings of the Jollie Ville Hotel. We did feel a little guilty towards the Guide as we didn't need him for touring as we had done that at the beginning of the holiday. So again , Thank you for your help and I will recommend your company to all. Caroline Brighton
  • February 2014
    It goes without saying that my daughter and I enjoyed our Nile Cruise with your company. I hope the message gets around that this area is safe for all and that tourism to Egypt improves for you. I must draw your attention to the services of two of your tour guides, one ,whose name I have forgotten who met us in Luxor and Alee Mustafa on the vessel. .He was affable, a great host ,spoke English impeccably and had an encyclopaedic knowledge of Egypt's antiquities. With hindsight I wish now that we had added on a visit to Petra.. Ray
  • The best holiday we have ever had - March 2014
    My wife and I have just returned home 3/3/14 from the Luxor to Aswan Nile river cruise aboard the Royal Viking, And would like to thank you for what has been the best holiday we have ever had. The staff on the boat were magnificent, nothing was too much trouble, The Food and hygiene was second to none. Breath taking scenery and excellent excursions followed by relaxing on the boat was in all, perfect. A special mention to our tour guides Mohammed and Hussein who made our trip with the excellent knowledge they have and the ability to make everyone part of one big happy family, again nothing was too much trouble, they worked above and beyond the call of duty. Real ambassadors for your country. The only regret is that we had to come home, but in doing so, we have come away with fantastic memories and new friendships. Thank you all and hopefully you would do the honour and pass on our thank you to all on the Royal Viking. Best wishes and WILL see you soon Gary & Kim, Cambridge UK.
  • Royal Viking - 04 Feb 2014
    Recently returned from my visit. Thank you to Discover Egypt for a perfect trip, all reps and guides were superb. The Royal Viking met my expectations in every way. I would not hesitate to use your company for any subsequent visits. Paul North Yorkshire
  • Royal Viking - fabulous cruise - February 2014
    We have just returned from a fabulous cruise aboard Royal Viking Princess. We were absolutely delighted with the boat; it is an excellent boat with excellent facilities. The crew on board are so friendly, welcoming, professional and enjoy their work. The boat is kept spotlessly clean and well maintained; it is obviously one of the top boats cruising down the Nile. We are very impressed with Discover Egypt and will unhesitatingly recommend your company, everything was efficiently organised and we didn’t have to do a thing or worry about anything. We were met on arrival at the airport and effortlessly taken through the process of getting our visas, your representatives at the airport are very helpful. Mohsen, our tour guide in Egypt is an excellent ambassador for Discover Egypt. He is totally professional very knowledgeable, extremely helpful and was willing to do anything he could to make the holiday enjoyable for all the passengers. The tours were all of an extremely high quality and well planned out by Mohsen. Life onboard was fabulous, the food was excellent, and plenty of choices at each and every meal, and waiters were courteous, charming and very helpful and friendly to all passengers. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the crew. We had a superior cabin on the upper deck; the cabins are well furnished and maintained to an extremely high standard. Our room was kept spotless by Ali, towels changed twice a day, we always looked forward to seeing how he had sculpted the towels at night. the bed was extremely comfortable. People should come back to Egypt there is nothing to worry about, security standards are high and there is no threat, we felt completely safe. The Egyptian people are so pleased to see tourist coming to their country. The weather is so wonderful, sunny clear blue skies all day. The cruise was a wonderful experience and a wonderful memory to treasure. I wish we were still onboard. Thank you Discover Egypt for organizing such a wonderful experience for us, you are certainly an excellent tour operator. So if anyone out there is considering a holiday on the Nile, look no further than Discover Egypt, you will not regret it. L. A, Berkshire. 10 -17 February 2014
  • Second trip on Royal Viking - Fantastic - April 2013
    I had to write to say what a fantastic time I have had in Egypt. The staff on the Royal Viking are all fantastic and Mr Saleh Mohamed is a wonderful General Manager. The attention to detail is second to none and my only regret is that we had to come home. Mr Hussein Abbas our Discover Egypt tour guide is a true gentleman who knows his history, what a wonderful man and it was a real privilege to have him as our tour guide. I really cannot wait to return for my third visit and am hoping to return to do the Long Nile cruise which starts at Cairo. Anyhow just wanted to thank everyone at Discover Egypt for a fantastic holiday.
  • Marvellous trip! - April 2013
    Hello It's a few weeks since we returned from travelling with you at Easter on the Royal Viking. I just wanted to write and say thank-you to you and your staff for the marvellous trip. Our guide was Mohammed who was absolutely superb - knowledgeable and fun and taking great care of us - we felt safe at all times, even on the journey to Abu Simbel. We found our boat to be exceptionally clean with friendly, kind staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Once we got acclimatised we realised how clever the itinerary was; giving us plenty of rest-time as well as exploring. We came at the recommendation of our aunt, and have now recommended your cruise to friends who asked about our experience. With best wishes and thanks Faith and Ashley
  • A very special holiday
    We have recently returned from a wonderful cruise on the Royal Viking (22 October 2012). We would just like to say how much we enjoyed it and how very well organised it all was. We had a superb guide in Hussein who was very knowledgeable, amusing and a lovely man. We could not find fault with anything – our cabin was lovely, cleanliness and hygiene throughout the boat was superb and the food was excellent and varied. I would like to make mention of my Coeliac condition and how everyone in the kitchen went out of their way to make sure I had the dishes that were suitable for me. The chef even went out of his way to bake me bread rolls twice during the trip with the flour that had been flown out especially. I was very touched at how much trouble you had all gone to. Thank you so much. We met some lovely people on board some of whom we will keep in touch with. We have talked about our holiday to lots of our friends and family and have highly recommended you. Thank you for a very special holiday and one we won’t forget in a hurry. Archie and Rachael – Derbyshire.
  • Well done to all on board
    Just come back from wonderful 7 night Nile cruise on the Royal Viking (12 - 19 Nov 2012) We were looked after so well. Well done to all on board, and behind the scenes The staff were excellent, lovely food, very clean, nice cabin, and a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide Ahmed. Just wished we could have stayed longer! Phil and Jane Dorset
  • Fabulous, interesting and fun!
    My daughter and I have just returned from a holiday we had aboard the Royal Viking on 24/09/2012. It was a fabulous interesting and fun holiday. I most impressed by the organization by Discover Egypt and would like to give a special thanks to our Guide Mohammed Alaa who spoke English fluently and had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgeable, also the General Manger and Chef who were always on hand guiding their staff and making sure that the boat was clean and effiently run. The staff, the boat, the itinerary and the food were of an extremely high standard. One day we had a trip around the boat and saw the kitchens and engine rooms and was blown away by the hygiene procedures (no one was ill which is amazing as I was told everyone gets problems!!) even the engine room was gleaming with no signs of oil or rust!! I would thoroughly recommend Discover Egypt and the Royal Viking to anyone contemplating a Nile Cruise. Well done.Angela and Vanessa (Poole, Dorset)
  • Royal Viking- amazing experience
    I have just returned from a weeks Nile Cruise on the Royal Viking and would like to thank everyone involved in making the holiday the most amazing experience I have ever had. The boat exceeded all my expectations - the rooms were so spacious, comfortable and spotless. The whole hygiene regime for the entire boat was incredible. The food was delicious.The crew on the boat all went out of their way to help you and they were all so friendly. everything was perfect. Thank you to you all. Fiona (Colchester) 24.09.12.10.12
  • Dealing with your company has been a pleasure
    Just a quick e-mail to say Thank you! People are very quick to complain, but are never as quick to tell people when something is good! We have just arrived back from our Nile cruise on the Royal Viking and have thoroughly enjoyed it. The crew were extremely professional and the boat was spotless. We had a really good time. The tours and additional trips were well organised. Our guide for the duration was a chap called Ismail and being part of his group (known as The Family) was so enjoyable. His knowledge was endless and his explanations of the temples etc was brilliant. He kept us all entertained! It was a packed itinerary with some early starts, but was worth every minute. Dealing with you and your company has been a pleasure and we would be glad to receive any info re other tours you offer Thank you once again Sheila - Preston.
  • Incredibly impressed
    I would like to take this chance to say how incredibly impressed we were with the organisation of the whole Cruise from Discover Egypt. Everything ran very efficiently and our guide Yazzer was amazing in knowledge and personality! Please pass this message onto all involved please. I would also like to say how impressed we were with our Easyjet flights - on time both ways. They beat the charters hands down with more leg room too! With their move to allocated seating they are our preferred choice of carrier to Luxor for the future. Many thanks to everyone again Andrew - London
  • We enjoyed the whole experience
    We are just back from our Nile cruise on the Royal Viking (cruise dates 23- 30 July 2012 [Luxor/Aswan], and I thought I would drop you a note to let you know how much we enjoyed the whole experience. The crew and guide were without exception helpful, attentive, informative and generous with their time, and we would recommend Discover Egypt [and the Royal Viking] to anyone contemplating a holiday break in Egypt. Best Wishes - Dennis & Susan - Hampshire.
  • Royal Viking recommended
    My partner and I have just returned from a week on a Royal Viking cruise on the Nile. We found the attention to organisation, hygiene, and general cleanliness on board was most impressive. In addition, the successive range of choices at each meal was very unexpected and with excellent quality to match. Staff went out of their way to make everyone feel at home in a quiet and efficient way.
  • Discover Egypt and Royal Viking is a marriage made in heaven
    How fantastic you did it again! Full Marks for the Nile Cruise . Discover Egypt and Royal Viking is a marriage made in heaven . The boat is beautiful, we had a top deck cabin beautifully furnished with wood panelling, a huge bed ,flat screen TV ( English channels) mini-bar fridge and a Juliette balcony. The bathrooms are lovely too with a very good shower and also wood panelling. The staff on the boat were friendly and helpful. The level of cleanliness was astounding throughout the boat .Those passengers who did the boat tour also saw the kitchens and reported them to be state of the art with all systems designed to avoid stomach upsets only mineral water is used and UV lights kill anything that should not be there. Also as an additional precaution ice cream was not available and in the summer butter is not provided. There are antiseptic hand gel dispensers throughout the boat including the entrance to the restaurant. Out of the 64 cabins only 50% were occupied so we had a fairly small group and everyone got on well so we had a sort of house party atmosphere .The fancy dress party night was hilarious with everyone in Arab dress. The food on the boat was very good with plenty of choice and nicely presented. We had 3 meals per day plus afternoon tea when sailing. Drinks, wine, beer etc were modestly priced (£2.50 for a 500cl bottle beer, £15 for a bottle of wine). Tipping was done at the end of the trip so no there was no hassle on that. What made the cruise exceptional was the Discover Egypt tour guides. Our group of 30 had Sherry a lady with a Masters in Egyptology. Her historical knowledge was vast ,she could read hieroglyphics and had an infectious enthusiasm for her subject. She brought the historical sights to life so much that the Egyptian Gods and kings seemed to come out of the walls to accompany us. This trip is not just about the history as we saw plenty of the real Egypt in the small towns that we visited, The horse carriage ride at Edfu is particularly good for this .We visited a Nubian camel farm too and that was an great insight into the rural life in the Nile Valley. Easter is the end of their season and the weather was getting hot - over 40 degrees by the time we left, this necessitated some early starts. 7am for the Valley of the Kings, necessary because doing the valley in the heat of the day would be impossible. Abu Simbel is a 3 hour drive across the desert towards the Sudan border and we left the boat at 4am for the coach trip to see it. Please tell your clients that this is a must see. It is awe inspiring and should not be missed. Just a word about the street traders and various hustlers. Suggest to clients to have plenty of small denomination notes. NOTHING comes free in Egypt. If someone gives you directions or if you take their photo they will want money. Egypt is cheap and the street traders expect hard haggling Their starting price is usually 5 or 6 times the actual price. Haggle hard as they will never sell at a loss and walking away brings the price crashing down. This was a superb trip and we have made some good friends on it . Graham and Heather
  • The whole trip was great
    I would like to relay my thanks for a fantastic holiday from Luxor to Aswan. The trip was fantastic - our guide Hussein was amazing - his knowledge, expertise and character was exceptional. I wanted to email to let you know what a fantastic member of staff you have working for you. The whole trip was great but Hussein really made it worthwhile
  • Exemplary...
    On arriving at Luxor airport we were very pleased to see the Discover Egypt people meet us before passport control to give us our visas and tell us that payment would be on board later…very efficient! We enjoyed the boat very much and were lucky in being put on a table with 3 other couples with whom we got along famously…a real bonus! The food and service on board was excellent and hygiene was paramount..we got a tour round the kitchens later in the week which were exemplary. Our guide, Aladdin, was superb. He not only spoke perfect English but had a great sense of humour and was amazingly knowledgeable on all things Egyptian. His explanations at all the places we visited were comprehensive without being boring! We were pleased to have plenty of free time, at most of the places, to wander around and get back to the coach when we wanted. The boat crew were very efficient from the cabin cleaners (with their towel sculptures!) to the restaurant staff who cleared away very quickly and were all approachable and friendly.
  • Fabulous Holiday
    We would just like to say what a fabulous holiday we had on the Royal Viking on the Nile Cruise from Luxor to the dam and back 5 March 2012. The staff, the boat, the food, the cabins etc., were of an extremely high standard and we could not fault our 7 days. The staff were so courteous and helpful to our every needs. Our guide Imera was excellent, the trips were great, especially the trip to Abul Simbul, although a 3.am start was worth every minute we spent at the temples. Your staff who met us at the airports on arrival and departures was also excellent, especially our flight back, Luxor Cairo Heathrow - no problems. We hope to do Lake Nasser in the future and will not hesitate to use Discover Egypt again John and Naomi
  • One of the best holidays I've had
    I had a terrific holiday in every respect. The organisation by Discover Egypt was excellent, as was the local guide, Amira. The boat, Royal Viking, was very well appointed, and the crew, who matched the passengers on a one to one basis in terms of numbers, were all very helpful and friendly. There was a nice mix of visits and free time, and I managed to fit in a massage by the resident masseuse.... .. all in all, one of the best holidays I've had, and Diane was of the same opinion. Thank you again for all your help.
  • Most memorable holiday
    My wife and I spent 6th to 13th Feb 2012 on the Royal Viking and would like you to know that it was the most memorable holiday we have ever had in our 44 years of marriage. It was a truly unforgetable experience and one we will never forget. We would just like you to know that it was such a pleasure to be treated so well by your staff and we would have no hesitation in recommending your company to anyone at all. Thank you so much for for providing such an adventure, we can't thank you enough.

Sonesta Star Goddess

  • Best holiday ever - May 2016
    We returned back to the UK on 31st May 2016 after spending 10 very enjoyable days in Egypt. We wish to convey our thanks to all concerned both in the UK and Egypt for making the holiday truly memorable, it has been without doubt the best holiday we have taken. The organisation, advice and information, locations and helpfulness of all staff encountered beforehand and then in both Cairo and on the Nile cruise were exemplary. From the moment we were met at Cairo airport by Mohammed, we were looked after in a way we had never previously experienced. Mohammed, our driver Ahmed and Egyptologist Abeer were wonderful. The stay in Cairo was everything we hoped for and far more. The Nile cruise aboard the Sonesta Star Goddess can only be described as magical, the staff were fantastic, the food superb and Omar Habibi our guide, was without doubt, exceptional in terms of his knowledge, patience and making us feel welcome in his homeland. If Discover Egypt has any form of recognition awards we would like to nominate Omar Habibi for exceptional service, he is a truly wonderful ambassador for both Egypt and Discover Egypt. We enjoyed every minute of our time in Egypt, we hoped that the holiday would be enjoyable but what we encountered far exceeded all expectations. Thank you for the best holiday we have taken and for the best 50th birthday Elaine could ever have had. We will definitely be in touch to book with Discover Egypt for us to return to Egypt hopefully next year. Shaun and Elaine
  • Wonderful, wonderful August 2014
    This just to let you know, we had a wonderful, wonderful time on our Egyptian holiday. The Nile Cruise was out of this world. I was expecting the image painted by Agatha Christie from the 1920's and when we were moved to the Sonesta boats, that's just about what we got with a modern twist. The tours were excellent, informative and Mohsen really brought the ancient Egyptian world to life. Hurghada was very different, being as it was a family resort but we soon adapted and enjoyed 2 great excursions with your guide. Overall a superb time was had by all and we would like to thank all your staff for their expertise and attentive care during our stay Jenny 11 August 2014

MS Mayfair

  • Excellent - December 2016
    December 2016 - MS Mayfair Just a quick note to say that we had a wonderful holiday. The support provided in Egypt was great. Our stay on the Mayfair was excellent , we were overfed with superb food and the staff were brilliant. The guide Islam on the Mayfair went beyond his call of duty to provide us with wonderful and informative holiday. And thank you for arranging what was a complex travel arrangements for us and my niece. Mr and Mrs J.Harrow,Middlesex
  • Wonderful holiday - MS Mayfair
    MS Mayfair – MAY 2016 We have recently returned from a two week holiday in Egypt with Discover Egypt and we would like to thank you for what was a wonderful holiday experience. It was a holiday which lived up to every expectation and was great value for money. We will certainly consider future holidays with your company and will be recommending you to family and friends. The first week of our holiday was a Nile cruise from 2nd May 2016 to 9th May on board the MS Mayfair, sailing from Luxor to Aswan and return. Although both of us have been to Egypt on holiday before, this was our first ever cruise and what a wonderful experience it was. I can honestly say that the MS Mayfair looked exactly as it was portrayed in your website pictures but in reality everything was much more spacious than it appeared in the pictures. The word which best described this vessel would be luxurious. The crew were extremely friendly and helpful at all times and the same was true of Waleed, our tour guide/Egyptologist who accompanied us for the whole week. Our Discover Egypt group consisted of only 18 passengers and we were joined for a few days at a time by some American guests. As a group we got on very well socially and we met some lovely people who enhanced the holiday experience. Whilst it was lovely to have so few people on such a large vessel at the same time we felt so sorry for the crew and the struggling Egyptian Tourism industry. It is as safe to holiday in Egypt as any other holiday destination and at no time during our stay did we feel in any danger. In fact the security at Luxor airport was far superior to Heathrow. Suitcases were examined twice, hand luggage examined four times, numerous body searches and we were swabbed twice checking for explosives! It is high time that more flights to Egypt are made available to the British tourist and more destinations catered for. The standard of cuisine was excellent and I cannot see where anyone would have cause for complaint. The food was at all times plentiful and there were always plenty of options to choose from leading to the tendency to over eat! During the entire cruise I am not aware of any of the group suffering from a stomach bug. We opted for the all-inclusive drinks package which was value for money and essential in view of the temperatures. It was great to be able to order drinks without having to worry about a bill at the end of the holiday. Only having holidayed in Egypt in the past during the month of November I was surprised by how much hotter it was in May. Daily temperatures were regularly in excess of 40c which admittedly made some of the excursions rather hard going, especially where no shade was available. One evening when we stepped on the sundeck at 11pm the temperature was still 31c. The included excursion programme was excellent and also was great value for money. Had you to pay for each of the excursions privately it would have cost a small fortune. Our guide Waleed was very informative and very patient and allowed us plenty of time at each destination. All in all, the weeks cruise was a wonderful experience and something we would both like to enjoy again in the future. Yours sincerely Paul and Anne May 2016
  • SUPERB HOLIDAY MARCH 2016
    3 NIGHTS CAIRO,7 NIGHTS MS MAYFAIR CRUISE. March 28 2016 I can't thank you enough Discover Egypt, you all helped so much with any questions, 1st class service. Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel, Cairo, was fabulous, the guides, Amal & Mohammed were like friends & we felt totally safe at all times. The staff couldn't do enough for us at the Hotel & on the cruise. We were taken to 2 lovely restaurants to eat on the excursions we booked in Cairo, great food & excellent service, above & beyond what we expected! Ms Mayfair is luxurious, plenty of delicious food, the staff attentive & superb guides Walid & Ash. Everyone went that bit further to ensure we were happy & had everything we needed. It makes me sad to see how the media have destroyed tourism here, the people are so friendly & helpful, we felt so safe wherever we were. The trips were very well organised & I have to say there were more than several spine tingling moments, seeing these wonders & hearing how they engineered these monuments without today's equipment & technology, astounding! Amal & Walid spoke with passion & made each trip a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this holiday & really could go on & on. I've booked to go back on the cruise in May, on my own as I regret not doing some of the excursions & I know I will be well looked after. I think that says it all, truly a holiday of a lifetime! One last thing, if you enjoy a glass or 2 of excellent wine or beer with your meals or even a short, I would take the drinks package, fantastic value. Many many thanks to all! Carol – Somerset.
  • an amazing holiday
    MS MAYFAIR 04 APRIL 2016 My family has just returned from our trip down the Nile and I just wanted to tell you that we had the most amazing time! The organisation and application of the details were first class. Everyone did as promised with no problems what so ever. Cairo was fabulous, the Mayfair was stunning and the guide Islam was superb. It truly was one of the best holidays ever according to all 4 of us! I can't praise everything enough from beginning to end. Needless to say we will start saving to do a similar trip in a few years we hope when we can learn more! Thanks to you and Please pass on our wholehearted thanks to the guys in Egypt who gave us such an amazing holiday. Angela
  • A memorable holiday - March 2016
    A group of 4 of us recently went on a Nile cruise and I wanted to write and express our satisfaction with the whole booking. The week before the cruise you wrote and told us we were being moved to the MS Mayfair sad the boat we had booked was not sailing. We arrive to a lovely clean, happy, helpful boat and staff and this remained for the whole of the cruise even when there were only 12 of us on board. The rooms were a good size, well-appointed and clean. The public areas were very nicely furnished with the exception of the roof terrace where the cushions were looking a little tired and need the covers replacing. The tours were excellent and I have to say a big thank you to Hassan, our guide, who made them so interesting and memorable. His knowledge was fantastic and we learnt so much. The food on the boat was very good, we personally preferred the buffet style dinner rather than a menu to choose from but all the food was wonderful. If we had one criticism it was that we paid for the all-inclusive drinks package and often felt like 2nd class citizens as we weren't given bottles of beer but glasses, we were given small glasses of wine when others had large. I understand that you are trying to prevent abuse but this is not the sort of trip where that happens and we just wanted to feel valued, take that you had taken £360 for drinks from the 4 of us and I'm sure not many other people spent that during the cruise. (Editor’s note: The All-inclusive concept is always offered in this way – drinks by the glass) Many thanks again for a very memorable holiday Suzanne – Hampshire.
  • Memorable and Magic
    Nile Cruise - March 2016 I would like to say what an amazing holiday it was. Magical and memorable just about sums it up. The staff on board went that extra mile to make everything just that little bit special. The security was impressive and the Egyptian people so welcoming and friendly. I just feel sad that more tourists are not visiting Egypt. It has so much to offer and it felt completely safe. Thank you for organising such a wonderful holiday for me. Mrs W. Surrey.

Nile Cruise 7 nights

  • MS MAYFAIR JAN 2017
    I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent Nile cruise on MS Mayfair. The arrangements you made were impeccable. The food, the accommodation, the hospitality on board, the excursions and our guide Omar were all outstandingly good. Many thanks indeed. Regards James - Brighton
  • Ms Mayfair - wonderful holiday!
    MS Mayfair 19 September 2016 I can't thank you enough for another wonderful holiday! I have just returned from my second trip to Egypt, as a solo traveller this time, organised by this fantastic company! Collected at the airport by one of several English speaking guides, I was taken to MS Mayfair, docked in Luxor. It certainly doesn't disappoint, it offers luxurious accommodation, exceptional service & scrumptious food. I also knew I would be so well looked after & safe, these people go the extra mile for sure, they are so caring, they really want you to enjoy their country! I thoroughly enjoyed the excursions, although I had visited these places before, I was given another perspective by a different guide this time. The guides are extremely knowledgeable & so passionate about these wonders. I made an additional trip this time to Abu Simbel & wow... it was a truly awesome sight. We travelled by road & were also able to witness the breath-taking sunrise over the Sahara as well as the incredible 'Mirage'. I will return for sure & hope to venture further using MS Mayfair as a base, it is exceptional. I wouldn't hesitate to do this trip alone again, I felt so safe at all times. Thank you again to Discover Egypt for providing a wonderful itinerary & to all staff for making this another very special experience. Carol – Somerset.
  • MS Mayfair 05 sep 2016
    Nile Cruise 05 September 2016 I just wanted to say thank you we had a fantastic holiday. The Mayfair was amazing - the cabins are lovely spacious and spotless. The staff are very hard working and so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble and they always found time for a chat. The food is outstanding and anything you don't like or eat was swooped for an alternative. The itinerary was perfect and our guide Waleed so knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does he brought Egypt to life for me who had no previous experience of the country. The holiday was superbly organised and everything went smoothly Sue – Manchester.
  • Just back 19 Sep 2016
    Just back from our Nile Cruise on the Star Goddess. The staff take such good care of us we have only to decide which clothes to wear. Lovely lovely crew. So friendly and hardworking. The food was excellent as usual. Thank you to everyone on the ship and our Egyotologist for the week Ashraf. Start saving for next time now.

Classic Egypt 10 nights

  • First class - November 2015
    Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our recent trip to Egypt courtesy of Discover Egypt. Our 14 night trip consisting of Nile Cruise, stay at Luxor's Maritim Hotel and 3 nights at Cairo's Mena House Hotel ended on 7 December 2015. The reps at all stages were brilliant arriving on schedule and meeting our needs in arranging excursions and providing us with the necessary information to make out holiday stress-free. The guides-particularly Radwan, Mohommed and Abdul were enthusiastic and very knowledgeable and looked after us very well throughout. The hotels we stayed at suited us well, particularly the Maritim Jollie Ville in Luxor which was first class. November 2015
  • Cruise and Cairo - February 2014
    It goes without saying that my daughter and I enjoyed our Nile Cruise with your company. I hope the message gets around that this area is safe for tourism to Egypt. Ray from Clywd
  • Very impressed - January 2014
    Just to let you know my friend and I had a wonderful trip and were very impressed with all the arrangements/guides/travel etc in Egypt - all went without any problems at all. Well done to you all and the team. Mollie
  • Viking Princess and Mercure Le Sphinx
    Thank you for arranging an incredible holiday. The cruise was fantastic and it's a great company to go with. We saw a few of the other Nile cruise ships and the Viking Princess is by far the best. The reps and the guides were great in explaining everything and it was so luxurious! The excursions was so well organised and I learnt so much. Cairo was really great as well.The hotel(Mercure Le Sphinx) was really clean with great views of the pyramids and really friendly staff. The pool is great as is the spa and there are beautiful grounds. Thank you! Sarah and Dave
  • Worked like clockwork
    We have just returned from our Egyptian trip and I have to compliment Discover Egypt for the organization of our trip. It worked like clockwork. All the transfers were extremely efficient. The Nile Cruise was remarkable and we both felt handled very well. Our guides were very knowledgeable in fact what they didn't know about Egypt was not worth knowing. The hotel in Cairo was lovely overlooking the Pyramids and the tours in Cairo were also extremely well organized. In fact we did not have one complaint about the whole trip. I will definitely promote Discover Egypt to any of my friends who want to do this journey and there seems to be quite a bit of interest. Once again many thanks Regards Linda and Mike Calgary, Alberta
  • Amazing 10 days!
    Hi there We have just spent the most amazing 10 days - 7 days sailing on Royal Viking on the Nile with stops at Temples and the Valley of the Kings on the way then on to Cairo to see the Pyramids and downtown Cairo. I can't praise Discover Egypt enough. Your reps and guides looked after us every step of the way from the moment we arrived in Egypt until we got back on the plane to fly home. Facilities on the Royal Viking and at the Ramses Hilton were outstanding. The service was excellent and all done with a smile. I never felt any unwillingness, only a genuine desire to see we were well looked after. I would especially like to mention Amira Zaki who was our guide on the Nile cruise and Ayman Fathy who was with us for our day at the pyramids and Saqqara. Their knowledge and enthusiasm is second to none. Not only did we hear about ancient Egypt but we were also given an insight into modern day Egypt. It all made the holiday that much more memorable and they are to be commended for their efforts and the constant high standard of their work. I shall definitely recommend this holiday. Many thanks - Liz Tyne and Wear
  • Classic Egypt
    I would just like to offer my thanks for the faultless arrangements you oversaw for our recent cruise on the Nile and hotel stay in Cairo Egypt. I would have no hesitation in recommending fellow Brits to take a cruise on the Nile, particularly the MS Royal Viking, where the cleanliness and catering arrangements were first class. The staff were both friendly and accommodating. The local Agent “Discover Egypt” has some excellent Guides who spoke English fluently, whilst having a commanding knowledge of their local history. Well done again! Kevin

Ancient Egypt 14 nights

  • Holiday of a lifetime - February 2014
    Dear Caroline, We returned from our 14 night trip with Discover Egypt last Monday and I wanted to contact you to say how much we enjoyed the holiday. Egypt was fabulous and the organisation provided by Discover Egypt was faultless. From start to finish we were treated as five star guests and everything from transfers to excursions was excellent. The food, the service, the staff: wonderful. The Egyptologists were excellent - they brought the visits to life and we felt privileged to have such experts with us. (perhaps they could have offered us brief talks in the evenings before the outings as that would have added even more to the quality of the experience, instead of, or as an alternative to, the evening entertainment). The Steigenberger Nile Palace was a very good hotel, especially with the Nile view - whereas the Mena House palace in Cairo was incredible. The best hotel I have ever stayed in with pyramid view, superb service and attention to detail. Wonderful. Many people we encountered encouraged us to spread the word on our return about how safe and inviting Egypt is - and this we are certainly doing. This was the holiday of a lifetime and far exceeded our highest expectations. Thank you for your part in the excellent service provided by Discover Egypt. Andrew
  • Holiday of a Lifetime - January 2013
    We have just returned from our holiday in Egypt starting 16th January 2013. We flew to Luxor where we met out guide Yasser rep it was just a short journey to the boat Viking Princess. We then went on to have a holiday of a life time. it was a beautiful and interesting journey just sailing down the Nile with a view of the shores. We also had fascinating visits to the different temples all very different and Yasser our guide chose the most interesting parts to help our understanding of their building and design. Other outstanding sights included standing on the Aswan Dam with a view of Lake Nasser and the Nile, and the journey through the desert to Abu Simbel with the rising sun and a view of the mirage. The sail in the Fulucca was beautiful and an optional extra the bird watching trip enabled us to see numerous birds at close quarters including kingfishers and three different types of herons. We had lots of fun on the boat, the company was great and there was a variety of entertainment. The staff on the boat were exceptional in their care and enthusiasm. The restaurant food and service was excellent. We then flew to Cairo (for 3 nights) staying at the lovely Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx with a view of the pyramids from our room. At all times we were well cared for by the reps on the transfers. We had a fascinating day visiting the pyramids and another visiting the Museum where our very knowledgeable guide chose the most interesting exhibits to visit . We also really enjoyed visiting the Citadel and Mosque. We flew back to Luxor for 4 nights staying at Sofitel Karnak. The views of the Nile again were exceptional. We had a lovely room and balcony. We made the most of the facilities at the hotel swimming in the large heated pool, playing squash and tennis and using the Jacuzzi. Again the service was excellent. Sue and Chris - Cheshire.

Enchanting Egypt 14 nights

  • A truly wonderful experience - January 2014
    Thank you Discover Egypt for the wonderful holiday we have just experienced. We returned last night from 14 nights Nile Cruise, Cairo and Red Sea. The cruise and all the excursions were first class, from being met at the airport in Luxor to being returned to Luxor yesterday for our homeward flight we couldn't have asked for more. Mohamed and Ahmed, the guides on board Royal Viking, were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and made discovering Egypt a truly wonderful experience. In Cairo our guide was yet another Mohammed, this time Big Mo, and once again he was fantastic and made our visit everything we could have wished for and at no time did we feel uncomfortable with the troubles in Cairo. We had our reservations! but what a pity that so many people avoid Cairo. Our guide took us to the Egyptian Museum at 9am and showed us round in reverse order so that we almost had Tutankhamen to ourselves. Unforgettable! The final days in El Gouna were a much needed relaxation after all the early mornings for the various excursions and very much enjoyed. One last mention must be the reps and drivers who met us and ensured a smooth transit through the airports and from one place to another. Thank you Discover Egypt. Sue and John

Cruise, Cairo & Sharm 13 nights

  • We would have no hesitation in recommending your company - 04 Feb 2013
    We have been very impressed by your company and everyone involved with Discover Egypt and Viking has been very attentive and obliging. We have never moved through an airport so quickly as we did at Luxor on arrival!! Everything went smoothly and we were very soon on-board the Royal Viking. Thank you very much for booking us into the Mena House Hotel. It is one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. We regretted not having another night in Cairo but maybe next time... We had a lovely guide in Cairo - Nermine - who was an absolute delight and very knowledgeable. As we got a later flight we thought we might miss out on something but Nermine still managed to fit in taking us to the museum and the pyramids. She was disappointed we did not take her up on her offer of lunch but we did want to get booked into the hotel. She certainly, again, could not do enough for us. We arrived in Sharm to be greeted again by a Discover Egypt rep and whisked off to the Savoy which was very nice indeed and, although we were both under the weather, we enjoyed our stay there also. We would have no hesitation in recommending your company to anyone thinking of going to Egypt. It was very stress free and you are too modest in your advertisements as to what you actually provide Elaine and Eric Cumbria February 2013

Egypt & Jordan 13 nights

  • Thank you for a very well organised holiday
    We would like to thank Karma House Travel, via Discover Egypt, for our very well organised holiday to Jordan from November 7th to 11th 2012. We would particularly like to mention our wonderful driver, Ehab, who was a very pleasant person to be with on our travels. We had confidence in Ehab because he was such a careful and thoughtful driver when he took us on our tour of Jordan. Thank you Ehab. Regards, Peter and Janice
  • Egypt and Jordan a wonderful combination
    A huge thank you from us both Lin for the wonderful job you did with organizing our trip to Egypt and Jordan. We have never had a holiday so well planned and go without a hitch. We will highly recommend your company and Discover Egypt to friends who may wish to travel in the future. Best regards Ron and Barbie

Luxor & Cairo 7 nights

  • Go with Discover Egypt and it could not be a better holiday - 11 Feb 2013
    Thank you so much for looking after us so well in Egypt. I would highly recommend Discover Egypt – they looked after us extremely well from start to finish of our holiday. We went as a family with a 13 and 15 year old. We were met at the airport had a private mini bus at our disposal and extremely knowledgeable guides at all times. The representative in each stop Luxor and Cairo made sure we were fine and looked after us from the time we landed to the time we boarded and at no time did we feel unsafe or not looked after. It is definitely a country to visit as tourism is very much down at the moment and you are able to enter all sites without a queue ! Go with Discover Egypt and it could not be a better holiday. Richard- Bristol,

Nile Cruise & Luxor 14 nights

  • Wonderful week May 2016
    Mercure Karnak Luxor After a week cruising the Nile between Luxor and Aswan on the MS Mayfair, we spent our second week from 9th May 2016 to 16th May at the Mercure Karnak Luxor hotel. I chose this hotel, based on the fact that it was situated on the outskirts of Luxor and therefore likely to be more peaceful and also due to the brochure pictures which showed a beautiful swimming pool area and very impressive looking gardens. We were not disappointed in our choice. Everything was exactly as it was portrayed in the brochure with the exception that everything was much larger in real life. The hotel grounds were vast and beautifully tended to. The swimming pool was enormous and made to look even bigger by the fact there were only ever a few people using it. The Opet restaurant defies description. It was capable of seating several hundred people and is designed in the form of an Egyptian temple. It was a beautiful location for meals. The standard of cuisine was excellent. The food was plentiful and there was always numerous varieties of dishes to choose from the chef was always there offering to cook special dishes if you did not fancy what was already on offer. It was actually upsetting at times to see all the hard work and preparation that had gone into the meals and then to find that you were the only two people dining. There were hardly any guests staying at the hotel which is suffering badly from the drop in tourism and yet it is as safe to holiday in Egypt as any other holiday destination and at no time during our stay did we feel in any danger. High time that more flight are made available to Luxor and from more destinations! We cannot praise the staff highly enough. The restaurant, reception, pool, bar, gardening and cleaning staff all did a wonderful job and were without exception a credit to their hotel. The hotel was on the outskirts of Luxor and was even further out than the Luxor Hilton where I had stayed a few times in the past but taxis were readily available from reception and at very reasonable fixed prices per return journey. We met a charming taxi driver by the name of Tarek Crocodile and used his air conditioned taxi for all of our trips and excursions throughout the week. His prices were fixed and very reasonable and the service he provided was excellent. When the organized excursion to Dendera and Abydos could not take place as I was the only person wanting to go, I merely hired Tarek and his taxi for the day and so did not miss out. Temperatures during our second week were even hotter than the first week and several days actually came with a government health warning to stay indoors. We, however were quite comfortable poolside, under a shade and ordering endless drinks as part of the all- inclusive package! The only minor criticism we had of the hotel was that the rooms had only two power points with the TV connected to one and the kettle to another and the position of these power points made it virtually impossible for the elderly or infirm to reach them. Our problem was resolved by the receptionist who provided us with an extension cable. Other than that we had no complaints and would be very happy to stay at the hotel in the future and to recommend it to family and friends. This hotel deserves many more guests than it is currently receiving and I hope tourist numbers soon increase. Egypt is a country strongly dependent on tourism and if you consider that annual tourist numbers have dropped from 14 million to 1 million it might give you an idea of how the people are struggling. They need your support so drop be afraid to holiday in Egypt. We had a wonderful two weeks and will be returning in the future. Paul and Anne - Scotland.
  • Wonderful holiday - February 2014
    Hi, We returned on 22nd February 2014 from a wonderful holiday to Cairo and Luxor with you. The service we received from you was second to none from the minute we booked, The travel agent we used had never been there so we were reliant on information from your staff to help pick hotels etc.., They help us pick the most wonderful hotels, where the staff were outstanding. The Mercure Cairo le Sphinx was wonderful, your staff recommended having the pyramid view room, and the view was great, and well worth the extra cost. I asked for something a bit special for Luxor and your staff suggested The winter pavilion, and it certainly was special, the whole hotel and its staff was amazing, The reps that met us at the airports were fantastic, we had Assem Saladin at Cairo and Mohamed at Luxor, and both gave more than first class service, we managed to leave our tablets in Cairo and between the Assem, Mohamed and the hotel they did their best to get them to us, When this couldn't be done, (not through lack of trying), Mohamed asked the guide we had for trips (sorry i cant remember his name) to take us to a chemist and they managed to get the most important ones. We have never received service like this from any other holiday company. We will be telling anyone wanting to go to Egypt, to use yourselves as they wont get a better holiday from anyone else. We ourselves will always use you for any holidays we take to Egypt in the future. Thank you for a wonderful holiday and wonderful service. Paula and Philip Bournemouth.

Nile Cruise & El Gouna 14 nights

  • Superb Holiday - January 2014
    We arrived back from a Nile cruise and 7 day break at El Gouna at the end of January.I am writing to congratulate your company on a superb holiday.From beginning to end we could not fault the service.The Viking Princess is a lovely boat with polite staff and our tour guide Yasser brought everything to life.Everyone was helpful.Our week on El Gouna was made enjoyable by our rep there,Wahid,who put himself out for us. Thank you once again.I have recommended you to everyone who has not been. Elisabeth - Somerset.

Lake Nasser Cruises

  • Fifth trip and best - Nov 2014
    November 2014 - We were at Movenpick Aswan x4 nts, Omar el Khayam cruise x4 nts and Hilton Luxor x3nts. Congratulations - all your arrangements worked very well and all your Reps were good. This was our fifth trip to Egypt and we think the best. We will certainly book through you when we return. John - Hants.

Nile Cruise & Hurghada 14 nights

  • Wonderful holiday - March 2014
    Just to say that a friend and I are just back from Egypt and need to tell you all that we had a wonderful time (11/3 – 25/3). Our flight was from Manchester to Cairo and then Cairo to Luxor. We were met at Cairo by a representative of Discover Egypt and taken to immigration to get our Visas. Thank you for making this as easy as possible – we may have struggled on our own. We were them met at Luxor and escorted to the Royal Viking. We spent the first week on the Royal Viking cruising the Nile from Luxor to Aswan, visiting temples along the way. We can only say that we had not experienced anything like it. The knowledge of our Guide – Mohammed was endless, there was no questions left unanswered. The Crew on board the Royal Viking were brilliant – from the waiters in the bar to the cabin lads. Nothing was too much trouble. We never new what sort of towel art we would find when we went back to our cabin in the evening – brilliant. One of the day when we were sailing all day we were given a tour of the boat, even the kitchens – as you would expect all preparation areas where colour co-ordinated and scrupulously clean. We always appreciated the warm flannels and drink on our return to the boat after an outing. All in all a very good week. The cruise was a wonderful experience and will stay with us forever. We then transferred to The Movenpick in Hurghada. Once again – not disappointed. Large clean comfortable room, comfy beds and staff that could not do enough for you. Animation Team worked really hard to make your stay as relaxed as possible whilst not vegetating. Not many English about but we certainly let them know that we were there. Great rivalry playing French Boules with the Russians and Saudis alike. Restaurant was large (you could eat inside or out) with excellent waiters and tables were cleared efficiently. Beach Bar open all day for drinks and snacks with again welcoming smiles and very efficient service. Captains Bar was also run effortlessly. We were asked numerous times a day if there was anything else they could do to make our stay any better. Thank you Discover Egypt for organising this fabulous experience for us, and we sure that this is the norm and not the exception – so everyone we would recommend Discover Egypt to all our friends and family. Linda and Sandra - Manchester
  • Royal Viking and Citadel Azur
    I would like to thank you for making our honeymoon so wonderful. My husband and I were'nt sure what to expect but it was one of the best experiences I've ever had! We were on the Royal Viking before moving over to the Citadel Azur and everything about our honeymoon was wonderful. Thank you again Joanne (Chester) 12 - 26 Sept 2012.